Vegetable Beef Soup

Beef, veggies and cook time. Piece of cake… if you’re making it for one. I made it for TWELVE. Hence the larger quantities in the photos.

image.png

I’m just realizing now, that babies don’t have expiration dates. They could be like thirty years old… and still hungry. What’s up with that? So I’m either the queen that is all soup, or I’m crazy. Since I just spent thirty-nine hours cutting up vegetables, I’ll shoot for queen. In fact, my mother just addressed me as “Queen Deborah.” I’m not sure if I’m flattered or concerned.

In the end, the recipe was worth it. This tasted so awesome, that even GQ had to admit how good it was. And for him, that’s huge. His exact words, “This is some gooood soup. But maybe next time, make it on a really cold day and not when it’s eighty degrees outside.” He just can’t help himself. It’s like he took a class in critique. Positive energy not allowed.

Some more firsts for me with this one. It was the first time I’ve ever cut a leek, first time I’ve ever cut a rutabaga and the first time I’ve stood longer than thirty minutes in my kitchen. To do something other than wash dishes. I know, I’m growing up before my babies’ eyes.

In fact I told Quattro today, “I totally want to be you when I grow up.” She’s fifteen.

Because I had so much brain time on my hands while cutting up vegetables, I remembered when my friend Ellen took me to a “farmer’s soirée” a while back. And I just looked up the meaning of soirée and that is NOT what we went to. But I still like the sound of it.

So at this soirée, they cooked for us. One of the things they cooked was a rutabaga! Remember Ellen? And I swore to myself… not the vulgar swear, the promise swear… that I would once again buy, cook and eat a rutabaga. That was about five years ago. I’ve arrived.

And I think I live in a bubble. One of my babies got a job, outside of our house, outside of our neighborhood, outside of our town. Gasp. And you know what my baby told me about what it’s like outside our bubble? People swear. A lot. And not the promise swear.

So we discussed it. “Are they mad? No. Are they sad? No. Frustrated? No. Are they ill? No. Surprised? NO, they just swear for no reason.”

If my mouth even thought about swearing, my mother would get the soap. Seriously, I think she had stock in it or something. Maybe it’s time for some people to reinvest.

Alright, we’re getting off track here. I behaved myself this time and didn’t take multiple pictures of onions. Instead it’s a leek and a rutabaga. If you’re anything like me… and I’m truly sorry if you are… you need today’s cutting tutorial.

Starting with leeks, cut off the ends (roots and greens), cut in half the long way, wash thoroughly and then cut thin slices the short way. (see below)

If you’re still with me, rutabagas are cut like potatoes, smell like radishes and taste like turnips. Just cut off both ends and peel the outer layer with a peeler. Super easy.

If you’re not into eating meat with your soup, leave it out after cooking, because it won’t change the taste.

Ready for this? Me, someone who is not too keen on vegetables, ate an entire bowl of this soup. All carrots, leek, rutabaga, celery, onions, parsley and even the cabbage. All I have to say is… yum.

Okay, I have to stop babbling. Over and out!

Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe

Ingredients

1⅕ lbs. chuck steak
2 medium onions
pinch of cayenne pepper
3 carrots
¾ cups diced rutabaga
1 small leek or ½ large leek
1 celery stalk
3 medium-sized white potatoes
¼ head green cabbage
2 tbsp fresh chopped parsley
1 tbsp sea salt
optional: freshly grated Parmesan cheese

image.png

image.png

image.png

Instructions

  • Cut up onions.
  • Take a large pot, fill it half way with water and add beef, pepper and onions.
  • Cook on medium heat until boiling and then turn down to simmer for a total of 90 minutes.
  • Cut up carrots, rutabaga, leek and celery.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

  • Add vegetables and salt to the pot and and cook another 30 minutes.
  • Wash the skin of potatoes well, cut in half, place in separate pot, add enough water to cover, bring to a boil and cook for about 10 minutes.
  • When soft (but not falling apart) drain the water and set potatoes aside.
  • Remove beef from the pot with two forks, cut into bite-sized pieces and place back into the pot.
  • Cut up and rinse cabbage, add to the beef pot and cook for another five minutes or until wilted.
  • Fill up soup bowls and add half a potato to each bowl.
  • Sprinkle with parsley and Parmesan cheese.

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency