DIY | Tutorial | Felt Hairclip Cover | Build-it Contest

diy tutorial felt hairclip cover.png

Boring hairclips can be upcycled easily

If you have a daughter, you probably recognize the fact that a lot of hairclips you can buy in the store are quite boring. From time to time, when I have the need for hairclips in my daughter's hair, I get an idea to make a boring hair clip look cuter. The fun thing is that you have endless possibilities and by doing this yourself, you can also match the hairclip with your child's outfit. Therefore, creating your own hairclip covers can be ideal for special occasions as well.

What do you need?

You can create these covers in many different sizes, forms, and colors, and on top of that, add all the bling you want. I will create a basic cover with no extra applications on it because I feel the print on the felt is more than enough.

Before I start a project with felt, I usually make sure that I pick some threads in matching colors and have a needle available in case I'm choosing the sewing option over using the glue gun. This way, you can decide along the way what method you prefer and have all the tools you need ready.

This is what I used:

  • Felt with print, the thicker one preferably as they are firm and easier to handle..
  • Hairclip
  • Scissors
  • Glue gun
  • If you prefer: needle & thread

The step by step process

And that's how it looks when it's glued together. You only have to check around the edges now to see if the felt needs some trimming.

The end result

Once more but now in the hair, here's the end result:

Usually, hairclips slide down quite quickly in my daughter's hair, but the felt is perfect as it will keep the clip in place. It's great for straight hair that usually doesn't really keep hairclips in place.

Thank you for stopping by!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency