DIY acrylic painting for my daughter with dot art

diy painting.png

I started this painting a long time ago

I did my best browsing through my old posts from 2020, as I thought I had already published some step by step pictures of it, being a Work In Progress painting, unfortunately, without any luck. I saw a lot of dotting art and after that a lot of Christmas DIY tutorials, but I didn't find this artwork anywhere.

Good thing is I usually keep the step by step pictures forever and there must be a folder on my laptop/phone or old device for sure. Except recently we started to sync our documents and I remember there was one moment that I clicked on "save space on this device" and I guess with that one click, I have lost some folders. So far, this was the only WIP I couldn't find the folder from, so not too bad if this is all.

Too bad it means, that this time I can only show you the few steps I took today when finishing this older work that was waiting for me to finish it one day.

Just a canvas with bright colors

I love the soft colors personally, and I started to create this one last year when I was painting with my daughter. When these cute colors appeared on the canvas, I knew I was going to give it to her to hang above her bed. Our bedroom walls are empty, and I would like to change that by bringing in some decoration. Preferably created by me or together with my daughter for a personal touch.

The final part of the process

For the painting, I used a small canvas and acrylic paint only. I had some old paints which I didn't love too much, and used white to soften the colors for this painting. I used dotting tools as well as normal painting brushes as I wanted to combine different techniques.

1..jpg

2..jpg

4..jpg

5..jpg

The end result

Below you can see the end result on the wall:

end result.jpg

My daughter was very happy with the end result, I hope you enjoyed reading this post as well. Finishing this painting defo triggered me to start painting a bit more often. So who knows what I'll create tomorrow :)

Thanks for stopping by!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency