DIY Self Watering Pots Day 6

I was surprised to see there were two pots today with empty water at the bottom just like this on the photo I took just now

image.png
See it is empty and I had to replace the water. That was only yesterday when I checked and made a blog post about my observation. This got me convinced that the water is being imbibed by the piece of cloth up to the soil where the seedling is planted

image.png
The purpose of the pots is to self water. It would not be practical if I keep checking daily on the water level so, today I added more water to vessel below the pot. Increased the level a bit so daily monitoring will not be necessary.

image.png
Perhaps I can submerge the lowest part of the pot in water next time thus increasing the water level even more. I can do that once most of the water had been taken in.

image.png
There is no significant growth on the stems and leaves of the seedlings as you can see but that does not matter for now as I was able to prove that the water at the bottom is indeed imbibed by the soil above. That is already a win for me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency