Monday Missions entry - The art of the lathe.


Steps to follow to make this beautiful and useful kitchen utensil.






Greetings my readers, here I will show you the steps I took to build this beautiful pine wood mortar for my house, the wood lathe in an ancient art that is being lost in many places, I appreciate it so much that I learned to do it in a workshop from a friend and I take it as a hobby.




Initially we make a diagram of what we want to do, in my case the mortar consists of two pieces, the mortar itself and the pestle, which is the piece with which we crush whatever we want.




It is mounted on the lathe with the appropriate support, previously adjusted with a screw. (This should be balanced as much as possible, because it can generate more vibrations than expected), once there it is shaped, I am not going to saturate it with much detail, it will make it simple but very beautiful.



I make the base of the hunt, I want it as wide as possible so that it is stable, I round out the contours.




I make him a kind of belly in the middle, to make him look friendly and plump.




Then I finish with the edge, this is rounded inside and out, I deepen until I have a basin of approximately 7 cm and I finish it according to the hand that I am going to make.


Once ready, several sandpaper of different grains is applied and at the end an oil is applied to try to give it a finish.


Then I proceeded to build the hand, I started from a long piece of wood and gave it three well-defined sides in the same way as the mortar, lowering it enough at the top to make it ergonomic.




And here is the final work, I am very satisfied with the results.


If you want one, I can do it for you, especially those who live in Venezuela because I can send it to you by any shipping company, I receive the cryptocurrencies from this platform or however you want to pay, ask in the comments the price of this beautiful very useful article in the kitchen.





Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #science, #planet, #contests, #politics, #libertades
#crypto, #traveling, #discovering, #secrets and beauties of the #universe, feel free to follow me as these are the
topics I write about the most. Have a wonderful day
and follow Steeming! :)


! The truth will set us free and science is the one that is closest to the truth!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency