Toolbox talk - Workshop



A year or two ago my then workshop was broken into and they robbed most of my electrical tools. Luckily the morans didn't have a clue what they were taking and so most of the ones that they got were worn-out, cheap or extremely dangerous to use. They left my most expensive tools because they didn't know what they were. The one taken that pissed me off the most was my chain saw that I used for ice carving, that had a certain sentimental value for me but it was modified and had a hair-trigger that made it extremely dangerous to use, I hope the fuckers cut their hands off. Stealing a man's tools is one of the greatest crimes in my opinion, but I digress.

I called the police and they said they would put their best man on the case. Ha, ha! I'm sure that in your country as well calling the police is more for insurance reasons than because you expect them to actually do anything. Unfortunately, I had no insurance so I don't really know why I bothered calling them. Of course, I never heard from them again.

I had to move out of my Workshop soon after, to be honest, the feeling of insecurity this break-in caused made the leaving the workshop a lot easier.

Finally, I have found a new working space and need to retool. I will probably continue to buy cheap tools as for the amount of use I give them they are perfectly grand. They also pay for themselves pretty quickly and having the idea that they could be stolen again I don't want to be investing too much at the moment until I finally get a workshop I can call my own with a moat and crocodiles surrounding it for security.

Battery of tools

One of the biggest changes I have made in my tool choice is to go battery operated as much as possible. Tripping over cables and having to have 110V electric tools anytime you go to a site means that rechargeable tools are the way to go.

In Europe, we have a chain of Supermarkets called Lidl and each week that have special deals on things for around the house. The brand of tools they sell is called Parkside and they sell a big range of rechargeable tools all based around the one Battery. They are 20V with 2ah batteries which give a nice bit of power.

With each job I usually try to buy one to complete my collection. Above is my collection so far. Some of the tools were sold with batteries and charger and once you get them the tools work out around €30 each which bring my collection to a little over €200 which is around the price of one tool from a big brand like Makita or Dewalt.

Are they any good? Overall, yes I am very happy with them. They get the job done as good as their expensive competitors. They may not last as long but for the price, I think that they really are a great set for the DIYer. The only one which I don't like is the mini vacuum cleaner. It sucks, well actually it doesn't and that the problem. But for €15 it was an impulse buy.

The last two I want to add to the mix are a circular saw and another drill but I have to wait till Lidl brings them back again which is every couple of months.

When I do finally have my own proper workshop I will probably go all-in on Mikita tools but for now, these tools allow me to make anything I want.



My new workspace feels a bit safer but I found a large box that I put a lock on just to stop my workmates for using them without asking.

I have to say I am so happy to be able to get back making in a space I can somewhat call my own and having all my tools rechargeable makes thing so much easier and freeing.

This post was not sponsored by Lidl but if they are reading please make more rechargeable tools like a router and better vacuum/ blower and send me some vouchers.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency