Shattered Dreams, New Beginnings - My Picture Day Submission

In the beginning lockdown was kind of liberating; hiding away from the world, safely in my own little cocoon.

The days all started melting into one another and every day felt like a Saturday.

In between spring-cleaning and de-cluttering, I got real busy in the kitchen cooking and baking up several storms as this is my way of forgetting about what goes on in the big bad world out there!

Running a BnB from home, I would normally (what is that?) get calls at all hours of the day or night as people plan breakaways after hours not so! Those calls stopped and it was great not being woken up at midnight!

Then lockdown was extended and I started missing those calls especially as the bank balance was not being replenished with our post-retirement income!

I no longer watch the news as one hears about the hunger and despair all around and the aid that is not being distributed fairly and not reaching many who are in desperate need.

How can we help them when we have a government that discriminates on who gets the aid based on race? Plus you now need a permit to distribute food parcels or be threatened with arrest! Getting that permit is not easy either I am told.

So many dreams and hopes shattered by governments that cannot make the right decisions!

Wish I could just ride away in the sunset to a whole new world where people look out for one another.

This photo was taken on a road trip to our son in Johannesburg a couple of years ago.
Sunset Joburg trip.jpg

I must say I have experienced some of that empathy and neighborliness since Covid-19 broke out so there is some hope.

Gorgeous colours in the sky during an autumn sunrise at home.
SunriseKhorshed.jpg

This really is the best time of the year in Durban as the days are wonderfully sunny and the nights just a little cool. Perfect beach weather but we're not allowed to even walk on the beach!

I long for the day when we're all free again and start building a new tomorrow.
There certainly is going to be many many changes but let's look to the future with hope, and never ever forget to lend a helping hand to our fellow-man.

I know it's a cliche, but it really is so true; no matter how dark things may look now, the sun will always rise again in the morning!
IMG_20190711_070221.jpg

This has been my submission for @timsaid's MyPictureDay

Heart page break.png

Original Content by @lizelle

Thank you for stopping by

Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved


Banner created by @derangedvisions

PHC-Footer-05.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency