MADE IN MALAYSIA - MANGOSTEEN AMIGURUMI

Hello Hivers,

Happy Lunar New Year 2021 and Happy Belated Valentine's Day!

Scaling down crocheting from my usual five millimeter hook to a two point two millimeter hook was a completely brand new experience of the next level. I think I will need a pair of magnifying glasses in the future to get the work well done. Now I can totally understand the pain of making amigurumi! 🤣


IMG_20210214_184224.jpg


Mangosteen is the queen of fruits. The scientific name of this fruit is Garcinia mangostana. It is a very delicious seasonal fruit native to South East Asia. A refreshing, sweet and sour delight extremely appetizing in our hot and humid weather. My favorite fruit among all tropical fruits in Malaysia.


IMG_20210213_211434.jpg


Do you know that one mangosteen fruit can fetch up to USD1.50 in Japan? When my friend who was finishing his PhD in Japan told me about it, I felt like sending a whole truck load to him. It might last him into several lifetimes! 🤣


IMG_20210213_223522.jpg


Actually the skin of mangosteen contain higher level of Vitamin C than the white pulp. If you are able to produce a delicious drink out of the skin, you'll make a lot of money. The skin of the mangosteen fruit is also an important natural dye.


IMG_20210213_235442.jpg


To make this mangosteen amigurumi even more outstanding and eco-friendly, one can switch to using bamboo yarn instead of the common hundred percent cotton yarn. There is a lot of hype these days using materials that are easily biodegradable. This project has been a truly eye-opening experience for me. By the way, I spent Valentine's day devouring buttery croissants and crocheting a mangosteen amigurumi.


IMG_20210214_173417.jpg



IMG_20210214_190624.jpg



IMG_20210214_184109.jpg

Nice addition to handmade jute bag


Have you ever tried a mangosteen fruit?

Thank you for stopping by!

Cheers,
Wheat

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency