My Needlework Monday: Braided Mat From Scrap Strips

IMG_20210228_150057.jpg

Happy Monday everyone! It's another Monday for the needleworkers so here's my entry for today. Actually, it was our project five years ago but something went wrong on the process yet we still proceeded with it despite the defects. I told myself that I will repair it when I have enough time. It was supposed to be a corded round mat using braided cloth strips.

The error started after the middle part which is in black color. The reason was that the circle became smaller, which formed a little hollow. I guess it was how the sewing was done. It should be in flat surface when joining the sides of the braided cord. It looked like an oversized hat! Lol! Anyways, I still used it as center piece on our side table or below the Christmas tree where we arrange our stuffed toys and Christmas gifts.

IMG_20210224_162323.jpg
Well, you know guys, it makes me guilty everytime I see it. Lol! I know it was the fault of our helper but it's okay. With intention to correct the error this time, I detached where the error was and it means dismantling half of the middle part!

Memories

IMG_20210224_162552.jpg
The materials (strips) which I used for braiding were cutouts from the polyester fabric which I customized for the tribal dance of the elementary pupils of St. Luke Christian School. Yes, my dear needleworkers, I cut and sewed them all. My two girls were among the participants.That's how long I've kept those long strips! The design was so simple as it was a wrap around skirt for the primary pupils. It was beyond my wildest dreams that Antonia will be wearing her mom's tribal costume now.

The Making
Polish_20210301_144423990.jpg

To start with, the strips measured about 1.5 inches. I combined one black and two colored ones for comparison.
Polish_20210301_144703541.jpg

I bought one tube of nylon twine for my thread then I used a big needle. My purpose for this twine is to match the durability of the braids. When I was halfway done with work,Antonia offered to lend a hand and take part in the making. She said that she's done with her school paper and that she's not sleepy yet. Well, it was easy. You only need to insert/sew it on the holes.

While Antonia took over my work, she said "Lola (granny) I can still remember that when you were busy coiling the rope at the back of our dining chair, kuya (her cousin) and I would transform the other end into a skipping rope! Hahaha I really laughed. She still remembered those happy moments they've had with this braided cord.

IMG_20210301_145915.jpg

Mission accomplished!

This is all for now, God bless us all!

Thank you for reading! And big thanks to @crosheille, @muscara, @marblely and @neumannsalva.

Love,
@S A R I M A N O K

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency