Making the Perfect Crochet Circle


They say nothing is perfect in this world. I guess that's true. But in crocheting, with what I have observed from my brothers and sisters in the yarn and hook world, perfection is always a target. Of course, everybody I know in the crocheting circle are too humble to admit it but their works are always a picture of perfection. And that makes it even more perfect.

Today, I'm sharing how to make a perfect crochet circle. Last June, I finished a commissioned work for a round area rug. As the circle crochet gets bigger and bigger, I notice that it shows some corners on the edges. I managed to make a workaround by making some rows with no increases. Just to somehow neutralize the pointy edges. It worked fine with the project. Somehow, I still don't feel 100% about it.

Then I needed to work smaller circles. If I did not add rows with no increase, my circles would look like hexagons. It's good thing I became a member of several crocheting groups in facebook, I chanced upon a fellow member who has the same dilemma. I shared what I experienced and showed her what I did. The others shared even more. And I learned from them!

The secret is in the count

The first thing you need to take note of when making crochet circles is to be conscious - and I mean extra conscious - of the stitch count. If you started your round with 6 stitches, the next round should have 6 more stitches, and so is the next round and so on and so forth. They shared this table that we can use as a guide in stitch counting.


Source

The placement of the increases

To make your circle bigger and bigger, you'll need to crochet twice in one of the stitches, depending on which row you're at already. The swirls effect happens when you place the increase on the same place as the previous row. With this guide below, it helps the crocheter with alternating the placements of each increase.


Source

The huge difference

I made a sample of one with how I usually made crochet circles before and one with this new knowledge. I like applying what I learn right away. I hope this video and these illustrations help somebody out there who wants to make the perfect crochet circle.

MUSIC CREDITS

Electric Joy Ride - Origin [NCS Release] http://facebook.com/ElectricJoyRide https://soundcloud.com/electricjoyride https://youtube.com/user/ElectricJoyRide Music promoted by Audio Library

¨ðº°˜¨ ¨˜°ºð¨

@romeskie is a full time stay at home mom juggling homeschooling, crocheting, and homemaking. A Business Administration graduate with a major in Marketing who ended up in the contact center industry, on the frontlines, climbing her way up to Workforce Management where she found her passion in real-time analysis and management. A once self-proclaimed careerwoman who soon realized homemaking was her real calling. Her passion varies from reading, writing, photography, and most of all, crocheting.

Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter


Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.


Shoutout to @jemzem for my logo check out her Facebook page: Jem Virtual Assistance Services for your logo needs.


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency