Crochet Doilies

20210323_103802_0000.png

Someone messaged me a couple of days ago asking if I could make a flower vase coaster. They said they want something functional, simple, but tastefully done. Something classy. In my mind, I already have a picture of what I wanted to do, but of course, since this is a commissioned work, I will need to get the approval of the client. I hoped they would approve the one that I really want to do and it's a good thing they did.

When it comes to classy crocheted flower vase coasters, doilies are the best way to go. And I am excited to work on this project. First, because I love lacey designs. It follows a series and patterns but it's not too boring because you see the design slowly come to life as you work. Second, because these are the designs that my mom used to make back in the day. These designs are the ones that made me ask my mom to teach me how to crochet. And these are the designs I used to make whenever I see a crochet hook and a yarn. So this project is not just another commissioned work, it's a walk down memory lane.

Immediately, I looked for patterns online and I found this design. I showed other photos to my client and this is the one they approved. This though was only used as a guide, as always. I needed to change a few things along the way because the pattern did not work entirely well with the tension, yarn, and crochet hook I was using.

What's really exciting about this project is that this is the first project I made that will be paid with Hive. Yes! My first Hive transaction for my crochet! There's no time frame for it but I am taking my time to practice. My client wants white yarn and I've made one white crochet doily. When I checked on my stash, it turns out I only have 1 roll of white yarn and 2 or more rolls of every other color in the rainbow. Do you know how it is when you have a whole lot of other yarn colors and the one thing that you need is the one thing you don't have? Oh well, I'm just gonna have to order white yarns online.

20210323_105412_0000.png

Let me just give you a quick walk through of how this project was made. Basically, I followed the entire process in the link I provided above but I changed the 1 chain space to 2 chain space only because the coaster turns into a bowl like thingy. Prolly because I really have a tight grip even when I'm trying to loosen up a bit.

So basically, it all starts with a magic ring. Then we make 8 sets of 2 treble crochets and 2 chains into the ring. That's the first row. For the second row, what I did was make 3 treble crochets on each chain 2 spaces, and then 2 chains. For the rest of the rows, I just followed the instructions on the page, only changing the chain 1 into chain 2.

Right now, I already have 2 trial coasters, I am so ready to make the real thing. But before I do, I'll still need to block the piece. Blocking in crocheting means you lay the doily on a flat surface. Next, you'll secure it with pins so it doesn't move for the duration of the blocking. In this step, you need to make sure that the shape of the piece is laid down perfectly. Once you're contented with how it looks, you either spray it with glue and water or brush it with glue and water. Since I'm working with white yarn, I might go with spraying. My kid has been busy with painting these past few weeks and I don't want any stains on this classic white crochet doily. I personally don't mind the touch of color but my client wants white, so they get white.


@romeskie is a full-time stay at home mom juggling homeschooling, crocheting, and homemaking. A Business Administration graduate with a major in Marketing who ended up in the contact center industry, on the frontlines, climbing her way up to Workforce Management where she found her passion in real-time analysis and management. A once self-proclaimed careerwoman who soon realized homemaking was her real calling. Her passion varies from reading, writing, photography, and most of all, crocheting.

Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter


Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency