Sewing a flare trousers from scrap fabrics

Hello, my fellow needleworkers. It is another beautiful monday to be a needleworker and to be part of this amazing community. Today, I will be showcasing a pair of flare trousers I made earlier this week.

In early March, I went to the market to stock up on fabrics. While passing through, I noticed some people selling scrap fabrics roadside. Curious, I decided to take a look and came across a stunning print fabric. While I can't definitively label it a zebra print, it certainly resembles one. Consequently, I purchased two yards of this fabric for less than $2. The quality of the fabric is pretty good; it is stretchy, thick, and has a ribbed texture.



I bought this fabric on impulse, so initially, I didn't have any specific idea of what to make with it. However, given a recent low in my customer's orders, I decided to treat myself to a new outfit. Contemplating between a jacket/shirt or a pair of pants, my obsession with flare trousers ultimately won. So, I decided to my a flare trousers obviously.

I made these pants overnight, using approximately 6 hours in the process. This timeframe includes cooking and eating while sewing. Living alone, I cannot dedicate entire days to sewing, so I often multitask during the process, unless it is an urgent order. This approach saves me considerable time, allowing me to complete household chores concurrently with my sewing.

Now, I would like to share my process with you. If interested, please continue reading.


Step one: cutting


Firstly, I cut the front pieces. I want the trousers to be a bit tight so I reduced my measurements by one inch since the fabric is stretchy. I started the flare from the knee down to the floor.


Secondly, I place the front piece on the folded fabric and cut out the back adding two inches for the sewing allowance. The back is 2 inches higher than the waistline and the front I lowered by 1 inch from the waistline.


Thirdly, I cut the back pockets


Lastly, I cut the fly and band



Step two: sewing


I started by sewing the back crotch and topstitching it, then I attached the pocket to it.


I sew the front crotch and left 8 inches zip allowance


I see the zip and fly to the front crotch


I sew the front and back together


I attached the band to the waist


I sew the hem of the flare

This is the final result, I hope you like it



Thanks for reading my blog, and have a fabulous monday ✨❤️



All images are mine, thumbnail created by canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency