My first fashionable beautiful dress made through consistency

Hello everyone,
It's another awesome week, and a week filled with love and happiness and creativity and consistency is the key 😘

This is an exciting week for me because I get to do something new, making a new dress for myself, and this happens to be my first dress since I started the training, this is my first time of making a dress, and it was a beautiful experience for me, although it was quite difficult, cutting the fabric, and turning the bias on the neck of the fabric was all so stressful, I but I persisted and when I finally finished I was so happy and I couldn't stop smiling.

What really inspired me in making the dress, was the fact that all my dresses are made by my sister or my friend, so out of curiosity, i said let making it myself aside from mending already made dresses, so that was what inspired me, although at first I had no interest fo it, but my cousin advise me to learn it, but I was still adamant about it, so she decided to stopped mending my dresses and asked me to be mending it myself, so when i saw that she was serious, i had to start by learning how to paddle the machine, i did that consistently, and when I was perfect with that i started mending my dress without her help, although i had be looking all the styles she makes and how she cut them out, so i decided to give it a try, so last weekend i told her i want to sew a simple gown, so i brought out a fabric this beautiful fabric, a gift from my mother to make this simple dress for myself.

So with her help and her supervision I was able to cut out the pattern successfully, I started by taking my measurements with the tape, then folded the fabric into four, since it was a free short gown, so I now measured the length first, followed by the burst, the hips, and the shoulder, then drafted it out with my chalk for easy cutting. So I decided to put a pocket to make it beautiful.

I started by joining the shoulder, bent the down edge, then used a black bias to turn the neck of the fabric, although turning the bias on the neck was a bit difficult, sewing and losing several time🫣 but with consistency I was able to do it, I almost gave up because I was not still getting the correct lining.

But i had to persist because my cousin left an instruction that she wants to returned to see the dress being ready, so i persisted untill i got it.

When further to put the pocket

And finally joined the side.
Lo and behold my beautiful dress was ready.

When I finished I was so proud of myself, forgetting the stress i went through in the process. The dress came out beautifully well putting a sparkling smile on my face.

Thank you for reading β™₯οΈπŸ’ž

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency