Caring For An Old Friend

Hello needleworkers! Today my needlework was taking care of an old friend of mine. Meet Chrissy:

Chrissy1.jpg

Chrissy is a doll my mom made me who was supposed to be for my 4th birthday, but I got her a little early because apparently that was one of the times I fell off my bicycle so hard I turned my whole forehead black and blue (I am told I did that twice; I don't remember either occassion, lol). So Mom gave me Chrissy to make me feel better a little before my birthday. :)

She is as tall as I was when I got her, and I often tripped over her feet running down the hall carrying her - I do remember that. :D Don't worry, she cushioned my fall so I didn't turn my forehead black and blue again. ;)

Anyway, as you can see, her eyes and eyebrows had worn away for the most part, and she had a couple of places where her stitching was coming loose on her body. So it was time for a dolly spa day!

My mom had originally sewn on brown felt for her eyes, but I went ahead and embroidered them entirely, since that was what material I had and I'm quite used to embroidering too.

So first I washed all her clothes and gave her a bath. :) Dolls need baths too every once in a while! Then I spent some time trimming off all the pills in her yarn hair that had accumulated. Then it was time to embroider!

Chrissy4.jpg

Here is her beautiful face all healed again. :) Then I sewed up the two gaps in her stitching.

Finally, I got her clothes out of the wash and got her dressed and her bows in her hair, and she is all purty after her day at the spa.

Chrissy6.jpg

She is ready to take on the world!

Chrissy8.jpg

It felt good to take care of my old friend who has always taken care of me. We used to do everything together! Gotta take care of your doll friends, you know. :)

So that's it for my stitching this week - have a great day, everyone!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency