Needleworkmonday: A double knitted mug rag / Ein Untersetzer zum Valentinstag [Ger/Eng] (400 words)

Showing Appreciation

Inhalt der Challenge war, zum Valentinstag jemandem aus der Hive Community mit einem Projekt zu zeigen, wie sehr wir ihn schätzen. Ich war lange am Überlegen, bis mir auffiel: Viele die mir einfielen waren Teil vom Needlework Monday. Deshalb gilt dieser Post und meine Dankbarkeit allen, die dabei sind und die diese Community zu dem gemacht haben, was sie heute ist!

The challenge was to create something that showed my appreciation to a Hiver. So I thought of this person or that, but then I found: most of them were members of the Needlework Monday, so I made this about all of you, to all of you: the needleworkers, who love this community and made them to the warm group of people it is now. I wanted to make something that was all that we like in our projects: I wanted it to be practical but decorative. I wanted to show off my skills put on something new. Not using a newly bought skein, but leftovers. I wanted something in the theme of Valentine's Day, but more broad. It should show what I think is the foundation of this group, but in an interesting way.

Solch ein Mug Rag, ein Untersetzer für einen Becher Kaffee oder Tee (und vielleicht noch ein, zwei Kekse dazu), ist praktisch und dekorativ. Und dekorativ sollte auch das Muster sein.

The mug rag was chosen due to its size - not too big, and practical. Double knitting is great to emphasize a motive - but which one? Then I remembered the Kanji used in Japanese writing. I came upon them last year, when I saw a project using the sign for "knitting".



The left picture was taken in the snow - you can see it ;)


Nicht gespiegeltes Double Knitting? Noch nie gemacht, einfach ausprobieren! Also wurden die japanischen Kanji für "Frau" und "Freund" ausgewählt und gestrickt. Die meisten vom NWM sind weiblich und irgendwie Freunde, auch wenn sie über die ganze Welt verstreut sind und meist sehr verschieden.

Normally, a double knit pattern is mirrored on the backside. No problems for a lot of motives, but not for writing. So I decided to do non-mirrored double knitting - for the first time. Fitting for a project for the NWM, where often we challenge each other, don't you think? But which characters should I use, which words? Knitting? Love? Finally, I decided on "Friend" and "Woman". Most of us are women and I like to think of us as friends. We might live all over the world, different cultures and different opinions on a lot of things - but we have a common thing that unites us. We all love that we can show our work here, when most of the people around us just "don't get it" why we are so happy that we managed to learn a new thing or why the way we did something is so, so clever and should be lauded.

Der Needlework Monday verbindet Gleichgesinnte und mir persönlich hat mein Handarbeiten und diese Gruppe sehr geholfen im letzten Jahr. Dank an alle!

The Needlework Monday connects like-minded people and for my part, my needlework and this group helped in keeping me sane in the last year. Thank you all!

~ * ~ * ~

(Legen wir den Mantel des Schweigens über die Fehler. Auf dem Bild rechts unten sieht man ganz deutlich, wie ich nachträglich so einige Maschen mit schwarzem Garn im Maschenstich nachbessern musste. Und ich hasse Nähen mit der Hand und bin sehr schlecht darin.)

(Let's not talk about the mistakes I made - on the bottom right of the image you can see that I had to do some stitches in black afterwards, in Swiss darning. Sewing by hand is a thing I detest and I'm pants at it.)




https://steemitimages.com/300x0/https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmecULsErxwJQyshpY6vQ1dAFFuVQBch9dZmZikSqPDmYYmade by @QuantumG
Needleworkmonday Discord
DACH-Community Discord

5% der Einnahmen dieses Posts gehen automatisch an @needleworkmonday, unseren Gemeinschaftsaccount.

5% of this post's rewards automatically go to @needleworkmonday, our community account.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency