Crocheted Elegant Night Dress - Find Out How I Made It!

cover hive needleworkmonday.JPG

In today´s edition of #needleworkmonday, I am sharing an elegant night dress that I did for those of you who loves crocheting. It is a past project tho, but I am sharing this here just in case you might want to try it.

IMAG3450.jpg

It started with a granny square that is so easy to make... you can start with a chain of 8 then with 16 single stitch for row 1... the rest you can see in the photo. Of course you can make the top part with other granny saure design, you may also want to search in the web, there are hundreds of designs to choose from... Mine is a simple design I created.


IMG_1183.JPG

Measure the top of your bust to find your size. Make as many granny squares according to your size, it is better if your size is a bit loose so you can move freely. I made 18 squares that I have put together with a simple crochet stitch. You can also put the squares together by sewing it manually.

IMAG3472.jpg

IMG_1727.JPG

I chose a cotton fabric that has dainty flowers and I think it is the perfect one for the body of the dress. It is airy and can absorb sweat on a hot day.


IMG_1353.JPG

IMG_1719.JPG

I manually sew the crocheted part onto the fabric so I can adjust it to the top part, the fabric should be a bit larger than the size of the square and just gently gathered the edges and sew as I went with the process.

IMG_1728.JPG

The closure of the dress (button) was taken from my stash of mother of pearl buttons handed-down to me by hubbz´s grandma. It is the most appropriate type of button that look so delicate but actually very sturdy. The sling below had been made manually using the crochet thread I used.


IMG_1521.JPG

The length of the dress is according to the size of the person.... Below, you can see the back side of the dress. I made this as a gift to my nephew´s wife from London who with his family visited us here in Vienna. I hope you got inspired and that this post gave you an idea for your next project.

IMG_1819.JPG

I am thanking the admins of this Community @muscara @marblely and @shanibeer for initiating and hosting #needleworkmonday. If you are a crafter, this community is for you! Do follow @needleworkmonday and start posting your projects too!

Happy Needlework Monday!

Stay safe everyone!

GIF by @gremayo

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency