Trying something new: stretch straight stitch. / Intentando algo nuevo: puntada recta elastizada. 😃❤️

Hello Needle Work friends! I hope you are very well today ❤️. I'm sorry I didn't show up here on Monday, I'm managing my time in a terrible way 😂. These last few days I had several commitments and walks that occupied my afternoons, which prevented me from working on my needle projects, but I promise that I will catch up shortly. Just last night I had a moment where I said 'ok, I'll take a few minutes to sew something' but in the end I concentrated more on rehearsing some sewing techniques instead of finishing the garment I was making 😅.

¡Hola amigos de Needle Work! Espero que se encuentren muy bien hoy ❤️. Lamento no haber aparecido por aquí el lunes, es que estoy manejando mis tiempos de manera pésima 😂. Estos últimos días tuve varios compromismos y paseos que ocuparon mis tardes, lo que me impidió trabajar en mis proyectos de aguja, pero prometo que me pondré al día en breve. Recién anoche tuve un momento en el que dije 'ok, me tomaré unos minutos para coser algo' pero al final me concentré más en ensayar algunas técnicas de costura en lugar de terminar la prenda que estaba haciendo 😅.

1_20210902_100942_0000.png

I think I'm obsessed with the neatness of my clothes. This sometimes frustrates me a bit because I never reach the level of neatness that I want and that I spend it practicing. All the time I educate myself on how to improve my techniques, but when I go to practice sometimes I don't get the results I expect. It is obvious that I will never achieve a garment as beautiful as that made with industrial machines, but I always want to surpass myself in skill.

Creo que estoy obsesionada con la prolijidad de mis prendas. Esto a veces me frustra un poco porque nunca alcanzo el nivel de pulcritud que quiero y eso que me la paso practicando. Todo el tiempo me instruyo sobre cómo mejorar mis técnicas, pero cuándo voy a la práctica a veces no obtengo los resultados que espero. Es obvio que nunca voy a lograr una prenda tan hermosa como la que se hace con máquinas industriales, pero siempre quiero superarme a ni misma en habilidad.

IMG_20210901_221326126_HDR.jpg

Last night I decided to finish one of the many pantyhose that I cut a long time ago. I already know the tailoring by heart: I made several of these garments throughout this year, but still I continue to fight against my enemy: the elastic match. This technique is the most difficult because there are several things to take into account, and the main detail is that I can't get the elastic to lie flat: after I sew it, it twists on itself looking horrible (look at the right curve) 😂.

Anoche me propuse terminar una de las tantas pantys que corté hace bastante tiempo. La confección ya me la sé de memoria: hice varias de estas prendas en todo este año, pero de todos modos sigo luchando contra mi enemigo: el elástico partido. Esta técnica es la más difícil porque hay varias cosas para tener en cuenta, y el principal detalle es que no logro que el elástico quede plano: después de que lo coso, se retuerce sobre si mismo luciendo horrible 😂 (miren la parte de la derecha).

IMG_20210902_010232633_HDR.jpg

When I see this happening to me, I start to get very upset and it seems that afterwards everything goes wrong. Then it is time to undo a lot. Fortunately, my mother gave me this tool that makes the task a little easier, but it is still annoying to have to fix a poorly made seam.

Cuando veo que esto me sucede, me empiezo a molestar mucho y pareciera que después todo sale mal. Luego es tiempo de descoser bastante. Afortunadamente mi mamá me regaló esta herramienta que hace la tarea un poco más sencilla, pero no deja de ser molesto tener que solucionar una costura mal hecha.

IMG_20210902_010748264.jpg
IMG_20210902_010805840_HDR.jpg

After checking everything possible (thread, tension, presser foot, etc.) I could not find the reason for this detail. I thought about why maybe the zigzag stitch gives me this messy effect, so I tried a technique that I saw in a video: it is a stretch straight stitch. In the manufacture of lingerie, the zig zag stitch is mainly used so that it stretches together with the fabric, but doing this is also possible with the straight stitch: you just have to stretch both things while we sew, fabric and elastic at the same time.

Después de revisar todo lo posible (hilo, tensión, prensatelas, etc) no pude encontrar el motivo de este detalle. Pensé en qué quizás la puntada zigzag me hace este efecto desprolijo, por lo que intenté una técnica que vi en un video: se trata de una puntada recta elastizada. En la confección de lencería se utiliza principalmente la puntada zig zag para que se estire junto con la tela, pero hacer esto también es posible con la puntada recta: solo hay que estirar las dos cosas mientras cosemos, tela y elástico a la vez.

IMG_20210902_010631810_HDR.jpg

This stitch works, but I think it is worse than zigzag in terms of neatness, since it is much more noticeable if the seam is crooked (my suffering never ends). Also, when I sew the elastic, on the front the seam is on the edge and on the inside I do not know what happens and it is not at the same height. Why do you hate my elastics, my lord? 😂

Esta puntada funciona, pero creo que es peor que el zigzag en cuestión de prolijidad, ya que se nota mucho más si la costura esta torcida (mi sufrimiento nunca termina). Además, cuando coso el elástico, por el frente la costura queda en el borde y por dentro no sé que sucede y no está a la misma altura. ¿Por qué odias mis elásticos, mi señor? 😂

IMG_20210902_010649417_HDR.jpg

There came a point where my frustration was such that I did not want to continue with this anymore. Now I have a monstrous pantyhose with a lot to unpick. Maybe I will do it today or in a month, who knows 😂. It's always easier to start over with something else, but I don't want to waste all this cute lace let alone the elastics because they are expensive.

Llegó un punto dónde mi frustración fue tal que ya no quise seguir más con esto. Ahora tengo una panty mostruosa con un montón para descoser. Quizás lo haga hoy o dentro de un mes, quién sabe 😂. Siempre es más fácil iniciar de cero con otra cosa, pero no quiero desperdiciar todo este lindo encaje y mucho menos los elásticos porque son costosos.

IMG_20210902_011137030_HDR.jpg

The last of my theories is that the elastic bends over itself because it is very thick and the fabric is very thin, since with other types of elastics I do not have this problem. It's still a mystery, I have to keep finding out what happens. I wish I could relax and accept my messiness as long as they are no more than these. My friends tell me that no one would notice this, but I WILL. I'm my worst enemy, but I like to demand myself to be better every time ❤️.

La última de mis teorías es que el elástico se dobla sobre sí mismo porque es muy grueso y la tela muy fina, ya que con otros tipos de elásticos no tengo este problema. Aún es un misterio, tengo que seguir averiguando que sucede. Ojalá pudiera relajarme y aceptar mis desprolijdades mientras no sean más que estas. Mis amigas me dicen que nadie se fijaría en esto, pero YO SÍ. Soy mi peor enemigo, pero me gusta auto-exigirme para ser mejor cada vez ❤️.

Hope you liked this post! Thanks for reading ❤️.
¡Espero que les haya gustado este post! Gracias por leer ❤️.

IMG_20210902_011007729_HDR.jpg

With love. / Con amor.
Lau 💕.

(All the images were taken by me. / Todas las imágenes las tomé yo).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency