This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Needle Work Monday - Third Completed WIP: Skull Embroidered Utility Bag. / Tercer WIP completo: bolsa multiusos con bordado de calavera. 😃❤️

I would be lying if I said that yesterday I didn't stay until 3 AM to finish this project because that's exactly how it was. The time management I had this week was terrible, I was quite busy and I couldn't apply the method that I liked so much last week, where I sewed a little every day and didn't go crazy. Instead, I was only free last night to fully sit down and sew (right on time), but while listening to the Taylor Swift CDs on loop, friends of mine from Needle Work Monday, I was able to finish my third WIP project. and here it is. Right on time, as if everything had been coldly calculated 😅.

Mentiría si dijera que ayer no me quedé hasta las 3 AM terminando este proyecto porque exactamente así fue. El manejo del tiempo que tuve esta semana fue pésimo, estuve bastante ocupada y no pude aplicar el método que tanto me gustó la semana pasada, en donde cosía un poco cada día y no me volvía loca. En su lugar, solo me quedó libre la noche de anoche como para sentarme plenamente a coser (justo en el tiempo límite), pero mientras escuchaba en loop los CD de Taylor Swift, amigos míos de Needle Work Monday, pude terminar mi tercer proyecto WIP y aquí está. Justo a tiempo, como si hubiese estado todo fríamente calculado 😅.

Needle Work Monday (12).jpg


The main reason I delayed starting this project was because I didn't know exactly what to do. I had initially thought of another cushion like the one I made last time, but I don't enjoy doing repetitive projects that much. So once I canceled that idea, I was left with none. I also thought about a backpack, but it didn't have zippers or anything like that, and I would also need fabric for the inside. After thinking about other impossible projects, I ended up deciding on this wide bag design: simple but effective and where I was able to give prominence to the embroidery I did while I was in the hospital ❤️.

La principal razón por la que demoré en empezar este proyecto fue porque no sabía exactamente qué hacer. Inicialmente había pensado en otro almohadón como el que hice la vez pasada, pero no disfruto tanto de hacer proyectos repetidos. Así que una vez que cancelé esa idea, me quedé sin ninguna. Pensé también en una mochila, pero no tenía cierres ni nada de todo eso, y además necesitaría tela para la parte interna. Después de dar vueltas en otros proyectos imposibles me terminé decidiendo por este diseño de bolsa amplia: simple pero efectivo y en donde pude darle protagonismo al bordado que hice mientras estada en el hospital ❤️.

IMG_20220815_112237665.jpg

I remember that this idea was suggested by @neumannsalva in the WIPs presentation post and since then it has been going around in my head, although at that time I thought that the fabric was not strong enough. stiff enough to make an elegant bag. Later, it occurred to me that instead of a bag it could be a shopping bag, where such a formed structure is not necessary, and the result turned out very well ❤️.

Recuerdo que esta idea fue sugerida por @neumannsalva en el post de presentación de los WIPs y desde entonces quedó dando vueltas en mi cabeza, aunque en ese momento pensaba que la tela no era lo suficientemente rígida como para hacer un bolso elegante. Después, se me ocurrió que en lugar de bolso podía ser una bolsa de compras, en donde no es necesaria una estructura tan formada y el resultado quedó muy bien ❤️.

IMG_20220815_112248831.jpg

I imagine myself with this bag going on a trip. When I go by bus I always carry an extra bag in addition to my luggage, where I put a blanket and the things that I want to be on the seat with me. So I sized it up for this and also took advantage of the embroidery as a functional pocket. This idea was last minute and I'm glad it occurred to me just before I finished sewing everything in the wee hours of the morning :-p.

Me imagino con esta bolsa yendo de viaje. Cuando voy en micro siempre llevo una bolsa extra además de mi equipaje, en donde coloco una manta y las cosas que quiero que esten en el asiento conmigo. Así que le dí el tamaño necesario para esto y además aproveché el bordado como un bolsillo funcional. Esta idea fue de último momento y que bueno que se me ocurrió justo antes de terminar de coser todo a altas horas de la madrugada :-p.

IMG_20220815_112612499.jpg

I had never made a bag of this but the construction details were quite easy. I took the opportunity to use a little zigzag stitching on the top hem and straight stitching on the rest of the seams. Another reason why I didn't want to make a cushion was because this piece of fabric was quite large and I was embarrassed to cut it for that. But in this project I was able to make better use of it, since I just cut a long rectangle and folded it in half ❣️.

Nunca había hecho una bolsa de esta pero los detalles constructivos fueron bastante fáciles. Aproveché para usar un poco de costura zigzag en el dobladillo superior y recta en el resto de las uniones. Otro de los motivos por los que no quería hacer un almohadón era porque este retazo de tela era bastante grande y me daba pena recortarlo para eso. Pero en este proyecto lo pude aprovechar mejor, ya que solo corté un rectángulo largo y lo doblé a la mitad ❣️.

IMG_20220815_112404525.jpgIMG_20220815_112316896.jpg

For the final details I only had to give it a little depth in the bottom part by forming a triangle in the corners and finish everything with a zigzag seam. One day I will have the overlock machine and I will have better results on the edges of the fabric, but in the meantime the zigzag does a good job ❤️.

Para los detalles finales solo tuve que darle un poco de profundidad en la parte del fondo formando un triángulo en las esquinas y rematar todo con costura zigzag. Algún día tendré la máquina overlock y tendré mejores resultados en los bordes de la tela, pero mientras tanto el zigzag cumple una buena función ❤️.

IMG_20220815_112340397.jpgIMG_20220815_112515411.jpg


And finally, this is how the multifunction bag turned out. I'm glad that surely in this way I will be able to take it to several places and my embroidery will be appreciated by more people ❤️.

Y finalmente, así es como quedó la bolsa multifunción. Me alegro de que seguramente de esta forma la voy a poder llevar a varios lugares y mi bordado podrá ser apreciado por más personas ❤️.

IMG_20220815_112143786~2.jpg

Well, with this project finished I only have one left to go and that is the new doll wardrobe. I plan to make simple outfits to be able to make several and take advantage of as many fabrics as possible, but well, you know how I am and I change my ideas as I go. When I'm ready I'll be able to tell you definitively what I did. We only have one more Monday of WIP left and the challenge is over. The weeks went by so fast but I'm glad this has pushed us all to finish our unfinished projects. This community is great ❤️.

Bueno, con este proyecto terminado solo me queda uno por delante y es el del nuevo guardarropas de muñecas. Tengo pensado hacer atuendos sencillos para poder hacer varios y aprovechar la mayor cantidad de telas posible, pero bueno, saben como soy y sobre la marcha voy cambiando mis ideas. Cuando esté listo voy a poder contarles definitivamente qué fue lo que hice. Ya solo nos queda un lunes más de WIP y el desafío se termina. Las semanas pasaron muy rápido pero me alegra que esto nos haya impulsado a todos a terminar nuestros proyectos inconclusos. Esta comunidad es genial ❤️.


❣️ More posts about Needle Work Monday WIP Challenge ❣️

Week 1: Time to dust off some of the many "just in case" fabrics. / Hora de desempolvar algunas de las tantas telas de "por si acaso". 😅❤️
Week 2: Some drawbacks in making the "easier" project. / Algunos inconvenientes en la confección del proyecto "más fácil". 😵😅
Week 4: A bit of scissor work to move forward with the WIP projects. / Un poco de trabajo de tijeras para avanzar con los proyectos WIP. 😅❤️
Week 5: After a lot of iron work, my first WIP done. / Después de un montón de trabajo de plancha, mi primer WIP terminado. 😅❤️
Week 6: Second WIP completed and the need to hurry right now. / Segundo WIP completo y la necesidad de apurarse justo ahora. 😅❤️



❤️ Hope you liked this post! Thanks for reading. ❤️

❤️¡Espero que les haya gustado este post! Gracias por leer. ❤️




IMG_20220815_112744771.jpg

With lots of love. / Con mucho amor.
Lau 💕.


📸 Cover created with Canva. All the images are my property 💕.
📸 Portada creada en Canva. Todas las imágenes son de mi propiedad 💕.


Logo
Center