Designing and creating some summer trousers, to fit my current mood…

Those trousers I designed, getting inspired by the mood I was in that day. I wanted to make the trousers, that would fit my emotional state of that moment.

titel.jpg

It does happen to me quite often, that I want to get dressed and, in my head, I do have a very specific idea of what garments I want to wear, fitting my mood. But then if I do not find something matching this vision it is very frustrating, to me anyways. (am I the only one or can you relate, anyone?)

So that day I decided to just make the trousers I wanted to wear. (until I was done I did have to compromise, with some other clothes but that was oke)

I looked around in my mess of materials and fabrics, which is something I really enjoy, even though it can end up in some controversial emotional state. Every fabric I touch gives me so many ideas of what I could do with it. And then I would love to do so many things at the same time. Well since this is unfortunately not possible, I really must restrain myself to stay focused on one thing, to be able to end the project.

process.fabric.jpg

Luckily, I managed to focus, and that’s why you can enjoy that work-process and outcome now:)

process.cutting.jpg

Looking at the fabric it does remind me of the shades of a tree, covered in leaves on a sunny day. Beautiful, no? What better fabric would there be to make wide, loose summer trousers?

process.sewing.jpg

The sewing pattern I applied is quite simple, I had it in mind for ages actually. Since I had some trousers with the exact cut, but they got old and had wholes everywhere, I had to throw them away.

For the pattern, you basically take two squares of fabric, lay them on top of each other and cut a “U”-shape on the top-middle. Almost done...
Now I sewed the U together (there I had some struggles, because apparently it does matter how wide and what shape the U has, so I had to adjust that a few times)

u.process.jpg

process1.jpg

I added two stripes at the top… First, I thought to pass some darker-gray edges all around the trousers. But then I realized that this fabric is so nicely delicate and flowing around without. It would have been a shame not to take advantage of that.

process.doppelt_.jpg

So, I ended up not making edges at all…
horizontal.jpg

Even though the pattern was quite simple it took me the whole day to finish those trousers. Ironically by the time I was finished it was already too cold to wear them. But I am still very happy about having finished them. (even the next day it was too cold to put them on, but I am very optimistic to get there soon)

img_5233.jpg
(quick proof that I worked till the evening:)

And thats how those trousers look in the end. To explain quickly how they work: so on the sides they are fully open, no seam, and they close through the top where you fasten them with four stripes two make a knot at the front and the other two at the back... But you can also just see the outcome without understanding the system:) works too.

after.b_w.jpg

(I just liked those photos much more in black and white but I will give you another glimpse in color at the end)

after.b_w.2.jpg

after.b_w.3.jpg

(here you can see pretty good how the system works, I think, with the open sides and the knot around the waist)

after.b_w.4.jpg

after4.jpg
(here in color)

I am amazed by this fabric, I love the association of tree-shades, the pattern reminds me of. Actually, I am thinking of making a fitting top for it. So far, I have a few ideas, but didn’t yet decide what to go for... (Any suggestions?)

Nevertheless, I imagine it would look pretty cool to be dressed from head to toes in that fabric and go for a walk under green trees with the reflections of the leaves on the dress, adding up on the pattern of the fabric itself.

Thanks for stopping by, see you around and have a lovely end of this week!

(all the photos are mine)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency