Dancing through the forest in gold – sewing a silk dress

Do you need a lot of clothes to be happy? Or are you satisfied with a few?

Life often seems to throw the one thing at you, that you would have expected the least. And if there is one lesson I am learning repeatedly, is that each time I am trying to make long term plans for my life, they get thrown all over. One step at the time seems to be the only thing that really works.

I am fine with that.

Because even if one surprise was unpleasant, the next one will be exciting.

I expected not to see my sewing machine for weeks and months. But here she is, purring under my hands. Even if it will be just a very quick stop by, I couldn’t resist packing out the sewing gears.

I didn’t want to at first. Didn’t want to get carried away with projects that I’ll fall in love with, just to leave them unfinished, regretting my departure. But at the same time, I had those revelations about my relationship to sewing, and how much I still enjoy it after years. And I just couldn’t help it.

Therefore, I am only going for one, maybe two smaller sewing adventures.

The temptations where many.

I cleaned up all my fabrics. Sorted them by size and theme. A very inspiring and overwhelming few hours.

What should I sew?

Two squares of golden silk pass through my hands. I want to wear them as a dress, go to the forest and observe all the beautiful changes under the trees and above. My dress would fill in the gaps between me and the plants, while the sun sets. The air is golden, the green shines lush from all around.

Maybe I am happy with three T-Shirts and two pairs of trousers. It would be absolutely enough to satisfy all my needs.
But then I have those moments, where I want to dress up. Wear a golden dress, just to wander around in the forest.

I am wearing my favourite and only jumper, while I start sewing the golden dress.

Ironing, folding edges...

…endless lines

...sewing along

…the dress consists of two squares, joined in the middle at the front and back

…I need to make some laces

…luckily I have enough fabric left

…more ironing and more sewing

...a bundle of golden silk strips

…the same day I started sewing in the morning and I finish the dress in the evening

Now it is raining and grey outside. The forest must wait, until maybe tomorrow.

A few days later, I cycle through the forest on a golden vintage bike, wearing my silk dress that is very awkward on the bike, if I am honest. A linen shirt and some hunting boots, well at least my shoes really fit in the forest on a practical demand.

The sun is now barely getting through the dense roof of green leaves while I stroll through the trees, trying not to get caught by the branches.

Gold and green, I couldn’t think of a better representation of early summer evenings.

Thank you for stopping by and have a lovely week!

All photos and words are mine, written and taken by me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency