The Onam Outfit For A Toddler


Today is Onam, the harvest festival celebrated by the Malayalees who are originally from Kerala, India.

My bestie as a Malayalee, decided to challenge herself to cooking at least 21 dishes as is the custom. Apparently, it has to be odd numbered. She ended up cooking 33 dishes. Crazy right?

So, anyways I went shopping with her for last minute ingredients yesterday and she was busy asking around if they had the traditional wear for a child. They did, but not in “Malayalee colours”, which is off white and gold.

So, I decided to surprise her by sewing the child one. I didn’t want to tell her just in case I couldn’t make it in time.

I set the timer an hour and pretended I was on Project Runway. Let’s just say, if I truly was, my model would have walked out naked and I would have been sent home haha. But I did manage to finish before lunch today, just in time to swing by to hand over the outfit.

I was going in blind for I have never met the child and the only thing my bestie said to me in passing was, she’s a year old. The child is actually only 10 months and a petite baby. The outfit kinda fit, but let’s say she could be wearing it for a bit.

It is a two-piece. The long skirt with a gartered waist and I used the shirring with garters technic for the halter-neck top to make it somewhat free-size.

You will see at the end of the video, the lavish meal she prepared which was to represent gratefulness for the abundance. Happy Onam everyone (and in case you are wondering, my Mother’s Malayalee and that makes me half which is why I had a Saree in that colour to flip).

Thank you for your time here,
Sh33la

Music Source


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency