Redesigning Some Plain Crochet Tops


As promised in my previous post, I was preparing to do a seductive crochet top tutorial with step-by-step pictures, but my phone refused to charge until it was completely depleted. I had it already started but had to postpone it until I had something to use for pictorials because my phone was the only way I could take images. For the time being, let me tell you about what I did with the on-hand crochet tops that were sent back to me by one of my resellers due to a lack of sales because of the pandemic.

Looking at these tops, I find them to be quite plain and dull; therefore I'm trying to come up with something to add to make them appear more interesting. I start with these two tops, the blue and gold color tops. First, I choose a different color that would highlight the edging. After that, I was not yet satisfied with the outcome so I tried to make some small stars using the bigger needle on the gold one and some wavy thing (I was thinking of wavy seaweeds) on the blue top. So far, I'm pleased with what I've accomplished.

After a few days, I was able to charge my phone, but only for 15 percent before it stopped charging. I only capture a few images, but I didn't have time to edit them because I wanted to save the battery for later usage.

My frustration was channelled into redesigning more of the crocheted old tops. So I continued working on the third top, adding single crochet to the cup edge and shells to the straps. On the lower portion, I inserted single crochets to form lines, and on the cup, I placed single crochets to form triangles.

I was just doing what my instinct wants me to do, there was really no plan. Then, inside the triangle I made long and short stitches forming branches and made very little leaves. On the chest part, I made some 5chain-sc-5chain-sc to make some small ruffles. And at the bottom part, I just made some sc.

On the fourth top, I inserted some sc on the edges of the top and on the edges of the cups forming like a chain on top making a neat line. Then, I decided to make long and short stitches forming curve lines (I don’t know what it is called) and was delighted with the results. I made also several shells on the chest part and left only the base untouched.

After what I had done on the 4 crochet tops, I saw the effects on it and realized that there are things that we can still do to improve. We just have to think not to limit our imagination on things and let our creativeness lead our way. Sometimes being a mother, we were unfocused on the things that we’re doing because a lot of things are running on our mind like the house chores, the children, the budget-making while our eyes were stuck on the very exciting colours of the yarn on the social media, the lovely designs of some crocheters that you want to try, looking for the pattern of that design while imagining using those yarns, I mean being creative is letting your mind focus on what you have as of that moment and how you will be able to make a difference or make an improvement out of that thing. And I was glad that I did something good and was eager to share it with all of you here. Hope you all like it and inspire to give it a try. Have a nice day and God bless us all.

Sidenote: My sister was trying to help me sell those crochet tops that were sent back to me. So after redesigning some of them, they were sent to my sister and do some pictorials. So I just grab some of them, ask her to edit the others for me use it here.


@jonalyn2020 is a crochet entrepreneur, a mother of two and a fulltime housewife.

A timid person who loves to stay alone in the corner doing her crochet thingy. She accepts made-to-order projects of anything related to crochet.
To order, feel free to message her through her FB Page: https://m.facebook.com/crochetterscollection/ and Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/crochetterscollection
@jonalyn2020/my-crocheted-bucket-hat-tutorial


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency