Trying to Find my Rhythm

Last year in October, I had a major medical event which has changed my life. A year later, I am still in the recovery phase. Over the years I have spent quite a bit of money and time on the crafts that I love. My medical issue left me without full manual dexterity in my hands. I am slowly getting back to a new normal, so I decided to get back to my embroidery machine. Prior to my medical event, I had purchased towels, shirts, bags, spa wraps, kitchen goods, etc. because I had all of these grandiose plans for customized embroidered gifts. 😀 Plans change when other priorities demand attention.

6C9313C7-8912-4697-8465-A15B7DEC68CB.jpeg

Anyway, ... Getting back to my current project, I decided to use a design that I had already sewn before my illness. I ran into one complication though. My bobbin thread was initially showing through the top layer. I stopped the machine, flipped the bobbin and re-threaded it.

2216947B-5E63-4927-A4DB-A30C2C5ED511.jpeg

That solved the problem. I read somewhere that the bobbin thread should feed from the bottom of the spool. I started my machine over to the beginning of the design so that I could cover up those white stitches.

50FD6CE2-46F3-4FCE-BEEE-EA295DB7E0B3.jpeg

I have been using white thread in my bobbins for all of my designs no matter what color I have on top. I used a tear away stabilizer on the bottom of the towel, with a water soluble stabilizer on top to keep the stitches from sinking into the towel.

8BFAB9C3-5E9F-43D7-9C58-F7EDA1E67036.jpeg

I am happy that the towel came out looking nice. It will make a nice gift for someone who will be entertaining guests over the holidays. After I embroider a few more items, I want to get back to my knitting and crochet work. I have unfinished projects that need my full attention. Knitting socks was already one of my greatest challenges, so I will probably start back crocheting first. The crochet hook is easier to manipulate.

9527F897-F336-4B95-9F6E-D9E4CE0B7404.jpeg

I am praying that I will get back to full restoration of my health and my strength. In the meantime, I will do what I can with the skills that I have.

Enjoy your day.

signature.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency