Summer Scarf and Family Sewing Memory

scarfpic.jpg

I could not find my styrofoam hat form, so I had to take a rare selfie to show my new scarf for bad hair days--like today with its typical spring humidity. I first needed to piece a long rectangle from 2 widths of fabric I found in my remnant box. I used a French seam.

frenchseamwrong.jpg
wrong side of seam with raw edges enclosed

frenchseamright.jpg
right side looks like regular seam

I took time to do a hand-rolled hem around the edges while watching a documentary series called "A Stitch in Time" on Amazon Prime. Each episode creates a reproduction of an historical garment using historical sewing methods, such as hand stitching.

Sewing Memories
I enjoy the control I have while stitching by hand. It also brings back memories. Mom and Granny taught me to stitch hems by hand, virtually invisible on the outside of the garment. When I made my own prom dress many years ago, Granny had to help me hem as I was running out of time. She started at one end of the wide skirt and I started 180 degrees around from her. We each hemmed until we reached the other's starting place. Fun times!

In other sewing news, I got a package today with the burgundy satin I need for flower girl dresses for the big September wedding of my middle daughter. Time to get going on the wedding fittings and cutting.

See you all next week!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency