Knitting with Candy Floss

Knitting-2.jpg


Even though the weather is turning and the temperatures are rising, I pulled out my knitting a while ago just to keep my hands busy while my mind was going a million miles an hour. I think it's therapeutic in a way, but also is productive - then I realised that I have an even older project sitting in my knitting box that I left there well over a year ago and hadn't touched. Oops. Oh well, these projects are now being run in parallel because I plan on finishing them both. The other one is a knitted handbag knitted out of a very course wool using small needles so it knits up very stiff. I had no idea what to make out of it originally and

This one is a jumper and knits up really fast, I've already finished the back, front and I've started on the sleeves. It's a simple knit using mistaken rib.


Knitting-4.jpg


Mistaken rib is created by knitting with an odd number of stitches instead of an even number. The odd number then creates a moved stitch when you knit up the rows. While you can't really see it unless the work is stretched out, it creates an almost wave like pattern in the purl stitches.

My knitting seems to be getting rather bad tension wise. I'm not sure why, perhaps it's just that I'm getting old, maybe I'm not paying enough attention, but I don't really like knitting with such big needles, so maybe it's got to do with that. Either way, it still looks ok in the grander scheme of things, so I'm not going to pull it all out and start again. I know some of you probably would, but I just don't have the guts.


Knitting-3.jpg


I bought this wool ages ago, 300grams of it but there seems to be way too much wool in there for just 300grams. The pattern called for 250grams so it will definitely cover that, but it looks to me like I'll have a hell of a lot left over, suppose time will tell. I might need to find wool to compliment this and then use that and whatever is left for something else.


Knitting.jpg


The last wool that I couldn't use I donated to a friend of mine who makes children's toys and anything she can't use she said she'd donate to a charity that teaches knitting classes close to where she lives. I somehow feel better about doing that than wasting.

I can't stand the idea of throwing good wool away. What do you use your left over wool for? Do you hoard it, donate it or throw it away?



𝑷𝒓𝒐𝒖𝒅𝒍𝒚 𝑨𝑰 𝒇𝒓𝒆𝒆. 𝑨𝒍𝒍 𝒊𝒎𝒂𝒈𝒆𝒔 𝒂𝒏𝒅 𝒘𝒓𝒊𝒕𝒊𝒏𝒈 𝒂𝒓𝒆 𝒎𝒚 𝒐𝒘𝒏.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency