Summertime Organization - Yarn Sorting Fun!

716A8BED-64DF-41B3-89B7-6098E174D55E.jpeg

That’s right! School’s out and it’s time for some Summertime organization.

I’ve been putting off yarn sorting for awhile now. We haven’t been able to walk inside our little walk-in closet because my yarn and supply bags have overtaken the space. It’s really a ridiculous sight to see.

Things that should be stored in our closet have been pushed out to our room due to my procrastination 🫤. It’s time to get things back in their places.

I ordered some really nice storage bins that helped get me in the mood to tackle this job. From the looks and feel of them I think they will hold up pretty well and hopefully keep their shape.

2D75303A-DBA5-49FA-966B-5AB7AACB7333.jpeg

They are spacious enough for the amount of yarn I have. Last year I did go through all of my yarns to detangle and store them neatly in bags. I do not want to store them that way anymore because they keep getting tangled and knotted around each other. On top of that it’s insane trying to find the yarn I need when doing projects.

68E136AF-46EF-49EA-A27C-BB4E907054DF.jpeg

With these bins you have an option of leaving the bottom support down as one compartment or you can lift it and use as a separator to make two sections. There are velcro reinforcements to make sure it stays in place. I won’t need the bins sectioned off but it’s nice to have that option.

ED93AF79-67B6-45B8-ABCE-69E3474C0FE4.jpeg

There are handles on each side for easy carrying. They do feel flimsy but I think with lightweight yarn they should stay in tack long enough.

DFCCEB81-43BA-49BF-A900-3605125F5CB0.jpeg

There are more velcro pieces on the outside to seal the bins. I am really excited about getting this done and stacking them neatly in our closet.

I began by pulling out all of the yarn bags and sorting them by color. Here are the groups I started…

DB78CDD1-4E02-488D-8114-35A51DFA8C58.jpeg

Eventually I need to rewrap the thicker yarns into balls to make more space in the bins. I am really hoping storing them in here will keep them from unraveling. I do know I will be able to find the ones I need much faster with them being color coordinated.

A11D635C-FB10-4855-B014-932712F0D7DF.jpeg

The pinks and purples go in! Can you tell
I had fun doing this part?! 😄

I ended up putting two color groups in each bin. There is still room in one of the bins to add a bit more. I was hoping I would have only needed three of them in order to use one for all of my tools and supplies. Oh well, I’m just glad all of my yarn has a better place to sleep at night now. 😂

FCAD692F-195A-4DEC-86EE-17844A05040D.jpeg

That’s all the organizing I will do for one day. Tomorrow is all about tools and supplies. I’ll be sorting through threads, buttons, ribbons etc. and getting rid of anything I don’t use or care to have anymore.

I have this sense of obligation to save everything just in case I might need it some day. I always figured it would save me money if I already had it on hand. This way of thinking has caused me to have a lot of clutter and unwanted things over the years so I’ve got to fix that.

It does feels good getting these things organized so that I can find what I need when I need it. My husband is definitely happy I am finally getting to this, I think he misses our closet space lol. Maybe this will get me in the mood to craft more too ☺️.

How do you store your yarns? Leave me a snapshot in the comment section so I can see your organization skills. 😃😍


Thanks for Viewing!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency