CROCHET: MINI BEACH SKIRT

IMG_20210515_160722.jpg

Hello everyone. I just completed a mini beach skirt and I am excited to share the process with you all.

It looks complicated but the pattern is quite easy. It is just a repetition of 2 types of crochet stitches.

Materials
**Any medium-weight yarn (I used 100% acrylic yarn in the colour forest green)
** 4.0 mm crochet hook

IMG_20210506_173444~2.jpg

The first step for this project is to measure your hips and then you make a chain that when stretched gives you the measurement. For mine, I have hips 33 so I did a total of 128 chains.

The reason why we use a chain that is equivalent to our hips measurement is to make it easier to pass through the hips when wearing the skirt.

After making my 128 chains, I closed up the chain to make it a circle. I needed to be careful to make sure that it is not twisted while closing the chain and after closing it, I went back on it with a half double crochet in each chain space.

IMG_20210508_185304~2.jpg

To make the skirt I used the Solomon knot and the puff stitch. Here is a link to a tutorial on the Solomon knot and also the Puff stitch. The pattern consists of one puff stitch and a set of two Solomon knots. Which was done repeated till the last row.

I started the row with a puff stitch and I ended the row with a puff stitch. I did this because I intended to create a split after a couple of rows.

IMG_20210514_091659.jpg

It is important to note that at the beginning of every puff stitch I made a single crochet, a chain 1 in between the puff stitch (this is where the puff stitch of the next row will be done), and close it up with a single crochet.

This skirt is easy to make and beautiful in all colours, plus you can switch it up however you like.

I made a total of 35 rows which is 15 inches and I started my split on the 19th row which is 8 inches. I also made a strap to use in adjusting the waist region.

IMG_20210515_160709.jpg

IMG_20210515_160744.jpg

This is the final look of the mini skirt, I hope you like it.

Thanks for stopping by ❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency