A Quilt for Thomas - Needlework Monday

It's been a few days (or weeks) since I've posted! I have been a busy mama!! I finally found time to post about the quilt I started last month for my new nephew named Thomas.

Every time I have a new niece or nephew, I make them a quilt. Even though we don't live in the same country, I knew I had to make one for Thomas. It worked out that I could get one made for him and ship it to Texas with some people who were here visiting for a few weeks. I know it will be a surprise when the package lands at their house! They are definitely not expecting anything from me!

I decided on a herringbone pattern for the quilt, so I cut the fabric as it needed to be cut. It is vital to cut the squares facing in both directions so it makes a v shape when sewn together.

I began sewing them together in long lines. I was trying to figure out what size it should be and how many pieces I would need. It worked out that each row was 17 pieces long and there were 6 columns.

This part didn't take too long. It's vital to remember to overlap the pieces just a quarter of an inch so that they line up perfectly. It leaves a little tail on the side when they are sewn together.

All laid out, it looked pretty good! It's not my favorite quilt, but I wasn't making it for me. I know Thomas will love it and his parents will also like the muted colors. Time to sew all the strips together!

I decided to do something different with this quilt and leave the bottom of the arrows as they were. It made for an interesting shape for the quilt. Not sure I would do this again...after dealing with the binding at each point. Ha! I decided on a super soft fleece blanket for the back. It was the perfect size, so I went with it, even though it didn't match perfectly.

I also decided not to put batting in the middle. It's just the top and the soft blanket sewn together. It might for a nice weight - not too warm and not too cool.

I will update you on the finished product next week.

What do you think? Will they like it??

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency