Let’s Crochet A Burger That Serves As Coasters and Scrub Sponges

IMG_8030.jpeg

Hello everyone, I am here to share with you all what I made for the #needleworkyourkitchen contest. I thought so much about what I was going to make because I didn’t want to just do anything basic for this contest. I wanted to be creative but also not all of over the place. I was a little timid whiles choosing what to do because all the ideas I got were just regular ones. I had a lot of ideas but I wanted to be more creative about it so I decided to make a burger. The special thing about this burger is that it’s not just a crochet burger that has no use or for just decoration, it also serves as coasters and scrub sponges.

The lettuce, tomato, cheese and beef serve as coasters and the buns serve as scrub sponges. I’ve been wanting to buy scrub sponges for our kitchen wall tiles for a while now so when I realized the buns could also serve that purpose, I was just so happy. The fact that this is not just the regular sponge but the foam one(because I stuffed it with cotton wool makes me really happy.

It took me about 8 hours to make everything because I wanted a perfect result. I used double crochet, single crochet and half double crochet for everything.

The material I used were:
• Leftover yarns
• 1.60mm crochet hook
• Sewing needle
• Cotton wool
IMG_7958.jpeg

Procedure
I started by making the slice of tomato because I felt it was going to be the easiest. I used red yarn to make the tomato. I started by making 6 single crochet in a magic ring and then I built on it with 2 single crochet in each stitch the next row. I kept on increasing to the third row and then I made two double crochet in two stitches and then three chains and then skipped a stitch. I filled the spaces made by chain in the next row till I reached the end of that row. I added another row to that and I was done with tomato.

I moved on to the beef which was also very simple. I made 6 half double crochet in magic ring and I built on it whiles increasing in every row. 2 half double crochet in the second row and then 2 half double crochet in two stitches, 2 half double crochet in one stitch till the row ends. Anytime, you want to make an increase, you just put two stitches instead of one.

IMG_8033.jpeg

I moved on to the cheese which was funny to make in the beginning. I started with about 14 chains and then built on it with single crochet but I realized half double crochet could also do the work so I switched to half double crochet and then made about 8 rows of half double crochet. To seal the lining of the cheese, I made single crochet all around the cheese.

IMG_8032.jpeg

I moved on to the lettuce which also very easy. Just like how I made the beef, I made a circular base with 7 rows of double crochet and the I added the ruffle at the ends. For the ruffle of the lettuce, I made 4 double crochet in each stitch.

IMG_8031.jpeg

I moved on to the two very important parts; the buns. For the top bun, I begun it just like the beef but this time, I used single crochet and the after increasing it at the eleventh row, I started decreasing it. For the decreasing part, I made one single crochet using two holes. I decreased it till there was no more rows to make and the bun was about to be covered. I then stuffed it with cotton wool and closed it. I used the needle and white yarn to create the sesame seeds on top of the bun.

IMG_7988.jpeg

For the down bun, I made the same thing as I did with the top bun but when I was beginning to decrease it in the eleventh row, I started with back loop single crochet which means, instead of crocheting in front, I did at the back. I went ahead to make about 4 more rows and did another back loop again and then stuffed it with cotton wool and I finished it off and closed it.
IMG_8034.jpeg

I was now done with burger and it was ready to be served.


The result.

IMG_7992.jpeg

IMG_8009.jpeg

IMG_7997.jpeg

IMG_8004.jpeg

The slice of tomato, beef, lettuce and cheese which serve as coasters
IMG_8019.jpegIMG_8027.jpeg

Buns that also serve as scrub sponge

IMG_8020.jpegIMG_8026.jpeg

This was very exciting to make because almost everyone who saw me making this was eager to see the result. For now, I think I’ll have to make more because my sister wants one in her kitchen so bad and she likes the fact that it serves as a kitchen decor and also coasters and scrub sponges.
This is my entry to the #needleworkyourkitchen contest. Thank you for your time.

All Images Are Mine
Grids were made with photogrid

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
77 Comments
Ecency