Crochet Scrunchies To Make My Friend’s Day

IMG_9046.jpeg

Over the weekend, I went on a road trip with my little sister who loves to crochet just like myself. We knew we would definitely want to crochet along the way so we packed our crochet kit and after sometime, we began crocheting. That’s one of the ways I bond with her and we both absolutely love it. The one thing we have in common is that we love crocheting for our loved ones.

So I told her I wanted to make make scrunchies for @hopestylist just to make her day and she was so up for it. Hope has been working hard on something she’s been doing and anytime she updates me with the result of the project, I get really excited so I wanted to acknowledge her efforts in the way I know best.

The plan was to make one but the thing with scrunchies is that, you can’t just make one and be satisfied so we ended up making 3 of them. Also, remembering how she’s been hardworking, she deserved more than one scrunchy. I made two whiles my sister made 1. It was actually surprising how she never complained because she knew we were making it for Hope, if it were to be mine, every two minute will come with finger ache complaint.

Anything that has to do with my loved ones, I do it with all the passion in me and this was no exception.

The materials we used:
• 1.60mm crochet hook
• Leftover yarns
• Rubber bands


We wanted the scrunchies to last for long so we used three rubber bands for each scrunchy. We started by wrapping the the rubber bands with the yarns. We did that by making single crochet around the rubber bands.

IMG_8948.jpeg

After reaching the end, we switched to double crochet. We made three double crochet in each stitch till we go to the end of that first row. If you want chunky ruffle, make sure to crochet on loose stitches.

IMG_8951.jpegIMG_8955.jpeg

We then made more stitches in the first row. We did three double crochet in each stitch on the second row to get the desired size of scrunchies we wanted.

74499105433__791B5B4D-3936-4099-8D6F-89206F66FCB6.jpeg

To make the ruffles more defined, we went around the edges with single crochet. This brings out the ruffles and are easy to be seen.

photo-output.jpeg

The result.

IMG_9030.jpeg

IMG_9032.jpeg

IMG_9042.jpeg

IMG_9027.jpeg

It was fun doing this with my little sister. I always look forward to such bonding times with her. Even though I know I will be billed one of these days because of this scrunchy she has made with me, I’m just excited we get to do cool crochet stuff together.

I’m also excited I could do this for Hope, I just hope she likes everything especially my choice of colors.
By the way, my favourite is the orange scrunchy. Let me know your favorite.

All images are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency