Cooper's Hawk Visits the Bird Feeder - by Sunscape

hawk-11.jpg

While making bread this morning I looked up and was amazed to see this juvenile "Cooper's Hawk" sitting outside the kitchen window. I have a small Hemlock tree planted next to my little pond and the sparrows love to fly in and out of it for safety when they feel threatened. It sits probably 10' from my birdfeeder and I am sure the hawk is well aware that breakfast is nearby.

coopers-hawk-predator-1.jpg

Sitting atop the Hemlock branches the juvenile is surveying the surrounding area. I am sure that all the resident sparrows know that it is there and will not be coming for seed anytime soon. Apparently, according to the link I post at the end of this article, a plethora of food varieties that the hawk enjoys love to visit my yard and feeder.

coopers-hawk-predator-2.jpg

It was hard trying to decide on what pictures to share with you today as I took many while she sat there for a long time waiting for a morsel. She is actually looking straight at me as I take photos through the window. Interesting that she is not even bothered by my being there.

coopers-hawk-predator-3.jpg

She finally moved out from trying to hide in the branches to look over the edge to see what was happening below. Then immediately went deep inside the tree and sat on a dead branch hiding from the birds.

hawk-7.jpg

She sat under the tree for quite some time before climbing back to the top when she decided to fly up to the birdhouse that sits on the post above the Hemlock.

hawk-12.jpg

I was surprised that I actually caught her taking off even if the photo came out blurry I was pleased to have it. Seeing the underside of her wings and tail feathers really helped me to determine which variety of hawk she was. At first, I thought it was a "Sharp-shinned Hawk" but after researching the different websites I knew she was a "Cooper's Hawk".

coopers-hawk-predator-4.jpg

Sitting on top of the sparrow house looking at the Forsythia bushes on the side of my house. This is another favorite hiding spot for the sparrows to get to really quickly. She flew in that direction so I have a feeling she spotted or heard them there.
Below is a link to some great information on the hawk which I think you may enjoy. Happy Bird Watching my friends.
Cooper's Hawk

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency