Autumn. Time for seeds! (18 foto)

IMG_0066wH.jpg

This post goes for #AmazingNature Thematic Challenge. The weekly theme was: Seeds.. Since the host of the challenge @bucipuci chose the topic from my proposal (which I really like myself!), I feel that it is impossible for me to pass by, even though I have a big time pressure ...


Autumn is the ripening time, the time for harvesting the fruits, the most suitable time for walks in nature with the aim of "counting the autumn chickens". Unfortunately, as you already understood, I am absolutely out of leizure time, last week there were three (3!) urgent projects that needed to be completed within this week. And I only did 2 of them, and trying to finish the third one now... so outdoors walks are out of the question. Besides, by the weekend the weather gave us gray skies and rain, again. So today I was looking for seeds ... AT HOME!

Осень - время созревания и сбора плодов, самое подходящее время для прогулок на природе на предмет "посчитать осенних цыплят". Увы, у меня беда со временем, на прошлой неделе было 3 проекта один срочнее другого, все надо было доделать до конца недели, а я сделал только 2, а третий пытаюсь делать сейчас, поэтому вопрос о прогулках на природе исключен. К тому же, на уикенд погода подарила нам серое небо и дождь, опять. Поэтому сегодня я искал семечки ... у себя дома!


IMG_0075wH.jpg

Nutmeg goes as my number one. I have a nice jar full of these nuts! We bought them a long time ago back in 2012 and slowly consume them; I add this spice to the coffee that I brew in my jezzwa. Unfortunately, nutmeg does not grow in Russia, otherwise I would definitely go out to the field in the fall with a big, big bag and happily foray them up. Although this is not my fave everyday specie.

Первым номером идёт мускатный орех. У меня их целая банка! Мы давно купили их в 2012-м году и медленно расходуем. Эту пряность я добавляю в кофе, которое варю в своей турке. К сожалению, мускат не растет в России, иначе я обязательно ходил бы осенью в поле с большим-пребольшим мешком и собирал бы их.


IMG_0076w1h.jpg

Lychee is a baby of the tropics forest, in Russia country you can find them only at the supermarket. It was there that I found him, and for a long time. Lychee is used in salads, but as far as I know, not because of its nutritional value or bright taste (the taste is so-so, inexpressive slight sourness - you won't even notice). Its advantage is its appearance, beautiful design of the skin (c) mother nature. This is precisely the reason why I bought myself a few pieces. They lie at my house on the dining table, on a withered orchid leaf, and delight with their appearance.

'Личи' - дитя тропиков, и в моей стране найти его можно только в супермаркете. Именно там я его и нашел, причем давно. Личи используют в салатах, но насколько я знаю не из-за его питательности или яркого вкуса (вкус так себе, невыразительная слабая кислинка - вы даже не заметите). Его достоинство - внешний вид, красивый дизайн шкурки (с) матушка-природа. Именно это и есть та причина, по которой я купил себе несколько штук. Они лежат у меня дома на обеденном столе, на увядшем листе орхидеи, и радуют своей наружностью.

IMG_0082wH.jpg

Isn't that a hedgehog? Edible designer hedgehog (or armadillo?) from Thailand!


IMG_0093wH.jpg

And now I will show you my favorite spice: star anise (anise). I always put anise in my coffee, and I restock it at the store. I only need a little, 1-2 pieces for a large cezva, but since I brew coffee often, the stock has a habit of suddenly showing the empty bottom of the can :) This is not only my favorite spice, I remember that @txatxy also loves it - in the first place , of course, but its shape. Nature created these seeds in the shape of stars - these stars can be photographed endlessly, combined with other objects, they are magical.

А вот теперь я покажу вам свою любимую специю: бадьян (анис). Я всегда кладу анис в кофе, и пополняю его запас в магазине. Нужно всего немного, 1-2 кусочка на большую джезву, но поскольку я варю кофе часто, то запас имеет привычку внезапно показывать пустое дно банки :) Это не только моя любимая специя, я помню что и @txatxy тоже ее любит - в первую очередь, конечно, а ее форму. Природа сотворила эти семена в форме звездочек - эти звездочки можно фотографировать бесконечно, совмещать с другими предметами, они волшебные.

IMG_0083w1h.jpg

IMG_0083w2h.jpg

(Above is the cropped close-up part of previous photo, below is unedited photo, as the camera shot, I give it for you for comparison purposes, to get the idea what the work of photographer is during the images processing).

IMG_0084w.jpg


IMG_0109w.jpg

And now a bit of foraging. Something that (of course!) you can buy in the store, but in my case, actually, I foraged it myself. And also a little riddle / intellectual challenge / a test of your imagination, mind, deduction skills? And by the way, check our special palm-sized fabric bags with zippers that we have in our household, especially for the purpose of collecting / keeping wild herbs or seeds, or anything that we may need at the field. I am sure @riverflows will appreciate the idea.

А теперь немножко собирательства. Нечто такое, что (конечно же) можно купить в магазине, но мы собрали это своими руками. А также небольшая загадка0испытание вашего воображения... ума... проницательности?
И кстати, оцените: какие у нас в домашнем хозяйстве есть специальные мешочки на молниях, для сбора дикорастущих трав и семян. Уверен, что @riverflows оценит идею.


IMG_0110wH.jpg

In addition to useful functionality, they just have a beautiful design ... it's nice to store something in them!

Кроме полезной функциональности, они просто имеют красивый дизайн... в них приятно что-то хранить!


IMG_0102wH.jpg

Ok, we pick up those seeds two years ago. This is not the most commonly used spice in everyday life. The plant from which we collected this grows in my country, in the north of Russia. Question! What do you think it is?

Ок, эти семена мы собрали два года назад. Это не самая часто используемая в обиходе специя. Растение, с которого мы собрали это, растет в моей стране, на севере России. Вопрос! Как вы думаете, что это такое?

IMG_0095wH.jpg

I can give a hint and show you the actual plant. But I will not gonna tell the name for this, I am really curious who be willing to run this improvised #proofofbrain check?..


IMG_0113wH.jpg

The next issue is pine cones! But these are not ordinary cones, they are not collected from the ordinary pine that grows in local forests. This is Siberian pine, or cedar. Under normal conditions, such a pine do not occure at local forests (unless someone deliberately brought and planted a seedling). But last summer I accidentally found a place near my house where several of these pines grow, and in the fall I collected a modest crop of pine cones. They contain very tasty cedar seeds, which have a lot of very different pleasant uses.

Следующий номер - сосновые шишки! Но это не обычные шишки, они собраны не с той обычной сосны, которая растет в местных лесах. Это сибирская сосна, или кедр. В нормальных условиях, в местных лесах такая сосна не встречается (если кто-то нарочно не привез и не посадил саженец). Но прошлым летом я случайно нашел поблизости от моего дома место, где растет несколько таких сосен, и осенью насобирал скромный урожай кедровых шишек. Они содержат очень вкусные кедровые семечки, которые имеют массу очень разного приятного применения.


IMG_0115wH.jpg

An interesting coincidence: this summer my daughter tasted the taste of pine nuts, and now she keeps asking me to buy her more. I must say that these nuts are quite expensive: 1 kg of peeled nuts costs 3000 rubles ($ 40-50).

Интересное совпадение: этим летом моя дочка распробовала вкус кедровых орешков, и теперь все время меня просит купить ей еще. Надо сказать, что эти орешки весьма недешевые: 1 кг очищенных орешков стоит 3000 рублей (40-50 долларов).


IMG_0114wH.jpg

IMG_0126wH.jpg


IMG_0062w.jpg

Wilted Poppies' baskets are far more picturesque and photo-friendly, then the actual seeds (which are just tiny black dots... like a fly shit on a window seal, haha).


Perhaps that's all. I also wanted to show the beautiful autumn fruits of physalis, but unfortunately I did not go outside today, and I can not take new photos. I hope you enjoyed the little virtual walk - keeping track of the "gifts of nature" with me. So, all in all, lets count again: nutmeg, lychee, star anise, juniper, pine nuts, poppy. There are six types in total, the list is not that long... but each of these natural packages deserves a separate post, worth a story on its own!

Пожалуй, это все. Я хотел еще показать прекрасные осенние плоды физалиса, но к сожалению не выходил сегодня на улицу, и не могу сделать новых фото. Надеюсь, что вам понравилась небольшая виртуальная прогулка - учет "даров природы" вместе со мной. Подсчитаем еще раз: мускатный орех, личи, анис, можжевельник, кедровые орешки, мак. Всего шесть видов. Не слишком много... зато каждый из них достоин отдельного поста!


IMG_2399w.jpg

location: St.Petersburg, Russia September 2021 natural lighting
camera/lens: Canon 5D Sigma 150mm raw-conv.

aisrfr.png


I welcome @themarkymark to look up at the post and would love to hear your weighty opinion about evaluation of this original content. I deduce, probably you would not like it too much?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments
Ecency