Now what on earth could this be?

Something that I bet a very few of you have ever seen. A black Pearl?
009.JPG

Marian took some succulents out of the pots and planted them in the garden. Whilst doing this she found, what I thought to be a little necklace bead and she brought it to show me. Now it could be anything. As for instance, it might be a butterfly egg. Or a seed pod of a tree or plant.

I had a look and placed it onto the wooden windowsill next to me.
097.JPG

After a time a movement caught my eye, as the windowsill is right next to my PC where I was working.
A big surprise, so come and see.

This is a Crustacea, (Class) of the Isopoda (Order), Armadillidae (Family)

As I have said so many times before, the intricacies and secrets of nature hold many surprises and this little crustacean can roll op into a hard and tight little ball that no animal or bird would want to swallow. Amazing how each of it's little sections fall into place so neatly in the rolling up action with no open spaces for some predator to penetrate.
So I played with him for a while and now he is back doing his thing in the garden again.

I hope that you have enjoyed the video and the pictures as much as we did.

And That's All Friends.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post on behalf of @papilloncharity

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
134 Comments
Ecency