Winter solstice 2023

This is the season for all things nice. I believe most people love this season. I certainly do. I appreciate the time spent with friends but most of all relaxing at home with my family. I appreciate not only the festivities but also the changing weather.
molen.jpg
source - courtesy of @friendlymoose

Poem
In the Northern Hemisphere, it is now cold and grey. As I listened to the wind whistling, watched the freezing hailstorm and rain today, I was reminded again of a poem I wrote some years ago. It was called:

December 21 - A short, dark day
.
Festivities lurking in the midst
and thoughts of feasts and laughter,
but malcontent sits chambers deep
in a heart which is now so sombre.
.
For beyond the window a pallid, icy mist
seems to hang about,
Dull, heavy, whitish-grey,
kissed by cold winter’s mouth.
.
Chilled to the bones by it’s frosty breath,
as it sneaks through padded clothes.
Warmed only by thoughts of family time,
hot chocolate and mistletoes.
.
Dancing flames in the fireplace,
herald messages within its blaze,
"This short dark day with the hidden sun,
has 24 hours,
then from tomorrow, longer days will come."
©MoMoGrOw

.

.

Winter solstice
In this part of the world, the winter solstice is today or tomorrow morning - depending on one’s time zone. Today has the least amount of daylight hours. Therefore, you can think of it as the shortest day or the longest night. WINTER officially starts. Today's temperature is between 7-12 degrees Celsius. It was wet and windy but not as cold as when I wrote that poem. However, it is still typical wintry weather.

Walks
All non perennials have shed their leaves - it is hibernation time. The ground is cold with frost, ice or snow in some places. I hope that the snow will stick around like in previous years. I like going for walks in the cold air - it is invigorating. I walk around the city,

through parks,

or go for a walk by the countryside. It would not be the same without spotting a windmill.

Maybe I will meet these wild ponies and feral cows again.

If it is too wet or there are scary hailstorms like today, the other option is to remain in the warmth of my home and snuggle up and read a good book. I could also binge watch my favourite christmas films.

Changing seasons-changing moods
As the weather changes outside, I feel as though some people change inside or at least they show another side to themselves. The Grinch might be around but not everywhere. I feel as though kindness is especially stored up for the Christmas season. It seems as though some people's nature changes as well. People are nicer, more loving and kinder. This year at my daughter’s school there was a record collection for the Food Bank. Everyone gave generously and I am sure the packages sent to those in need will be appreciated.

I do realise though that the changing seasons and darker days have a big influence on people's moods and mental health. It is not all bad during winter though as:
most people tend to sleep better and longer and some have less allergies. There is winter sports as well. However, as the poem tells you, the days will start to incrementally get longer and longer.....until spring arrives.

For those of us living in the North - we simply have to make the most of the seasonal phenomena. Let’s put on layers and remain warm and enjoy the best of what the season offers.


All photos are my own except the first photo which is sourced.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
45 Comments
Ecency