A beautiful butterfly

Walking into the Judy Istock Butterfly Haven exhibit at the Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum in Chicago I couldn't help but recite in my head the lines I knew so well from the Eric Carle book 'The Very Hungry Caterpillar"

My copy of the often requested book has become slightly battered from all the times I have read it aloud with a small child sitting on my lap.

The book starts out with 'In the light of the moon a little egg lay on a leaf'

One Sunday morning the warm sun came up and-pop! - out of the egg came a tiny and very hungry caterpillar

We then read about the hungry caterpillar eating many types of food, some of which are very silly, until he becomes a big fat caterpillar and builds a house around himself.

apples, pears, plums, oranges, strawberries, chocolate cake, ice cream, a pickle, swiss cheese, salami, a lollipop, cherry pie, sausage, a cupcake, …

When he emerges a few weeks later our caterpillar friend has become A BEAUTIFUL BUTTERFLY!

From the look of awe and delight on the children's faces when the newly emerged butterflies are released I have to believe that The Very Hungry Caterpillar has been a favorite book of theirs, too!

1000s of butterflies! There are butterflies everywhere!

All photos are from my family albums.

5% beneficiary rewards go to @ecency and Amazing Nature hive-127788

Gif and divider created by @irisworld

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
51 Comments
Ecency