Amazing Nature Contest - January 2021 - #01 Landscapes

org_511b913a634edc7b_1609396387000.jpg

Goooood morning @amazingnature peeps I hope you are all well enjoying the new year and keeping safe from COVID. I ran away to the bush this new years and enjoyed a bit of time out away from the world. It was great not hearing about the virus, restrictions or having to wear a mask everywhere.

img_0.8626032783164175.jpg

I spent a bit of time flying my drone around the property I was staying at. Which was also a farm that produced grapes for wine. This is my entry into the Amazing Nature Landscape contest.

img_0.5411581438058816.jpg

When you think Wine, I'm sure the first thing that comes to mind is green fields, cooler climate and possibly somewhere European. But did you know Australia produces some of the best wine grapes?

org_b9ad00c6404e8525_1609396627000.jpg

Alot of these grapes are produced in hot weather in the Middle of nowhere. I suppose when you want to live off grid and away from the world you need to have a plan to produce an income. For many up here alcohol pays the bills. There are many other farms up here also, such as almonds, oranges, grape fruit. But grapes and wine seem to be the most popular thing. I guess there will always be demand for wine.

org_aa5347204436c6c8_1609396887000.jpg

As long as you have access to water you're fine. This is done by creating dams which capture rain water. They also become a source of food as Yabbies an Australian crayfish can walk for 60kms across Barron arrid country in search of water. I will need to do another post on here about these amazing creatures. There is also the Murray River not far from here and water can be pumped out.

img_0.22097428375094455.jpg

The thing I like most about the Australian landscape is that it is quite flat, I am guessing this aids in ensuring the climate stays hot as there are no mountains to capture the clouds and stop them leaving areas? I am not sure. I do notice once I pass mount Macedon it gets hotter as clouds struggled to get past the mountain range.

Also the Australian soil is red. Its no different to any other soil on the earth, except it has a high level of iron ore in it. So it gives off a red rusted look.

When explorers first came to Australia they thought they had found hell. It was hot, red and the animals were all different to what had been recorded in science. Birds ran, swans black, land animals hopped.

Many explorers quickly ran away from our shores. Perhaps that's why our country has remained untouched for so long. Although I have a theory that humans migrated out of Australia, not Africa.

Happy New year everyone! I hope you enjoy my landscape contest entry

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency