Bonsai Exhibition at Botanical Garden

Last weekend, we checked out the Bonsai Exhibition in one of the parks here at Baguio City's Botanical Garden.

Being busy the rest of the week, weekends are something that we look forward to because it is the time that we can relax and unwind and free our minds from the stress that comes with work. Because there is not much to do in our city, visiting galleries and exhibitions are mostly the activities that we do, anything to clear our mind from work.

We are always on the look out for what is happening in the city. I have passed by this poster about an ongoing bonsai exhibition at Botanical Garden during one of my walks. I made a mental note to tell my partner that we will go check it out until a few days have passed since I have seen the poster and we still haven't visited the garden. When my partner saw a post about it online, we decided right there and then to go before missing it.

The exhibition was located at the Centennial Garden. However, it was cordoned off. I asked one of the personnel nearby if they will open the exhibition and he said it would be later. Those who man that are not around that time. We were there past 8:00 a.m. Botanical Garden is open as early as 7:00 a.m. so I thought the exhibition would be open that early too.

I didn't realize that human nature is ever curious and therefore can be destructive which would put the bonsais at risk if left unmanned.

Good thing there is a cafe next to the Centennial Garden where we had coffee and bread while waiting for the exhibition to open.

The reason I want to go there early is to avoid the crowd. Weekends are tourist days and as much as possible, I don't want to be caught in the crowd. If we wanted to go some place, we have to plan going to the outskirts of the city.

These two photos were taken across the cafe. We sat at the verandah where we can see the exhibition area but we cannot see the entrance. When I saw that there were people milling around there, the shutterbug in me was raring to go.

I lost count how many bonsais were there. They all vary in sizes and shapes. Some still have their training wires looped around the branches. These help in shaping the way you want your bonsai to be. The wires add more character to the bonsais.

There were descriptions in some of these and one was said to be approximately 25 years of age. I was not able to take a photo of it though. I think that is the oldest. I was so distracted in taking photos of them all. The others range between 4 and 10 but some are younger still.

I was lucky to have caught this butterfly as it approached one of the plants. Those little flowers are irresistible.

There were some plants that I am familiar with like pine trees and apple tree. It made me think to bonsai the apple tree that I managed to grow as well. I should have asked the person who was manning the exhibition for bonsai tips for beginners.

As if the bonsais are not enough, there are those who placed figurines and other tiny little things as decors. These add more interest to the whole presentation. There were animals, cartoon characters, little houses and many more. There were also interesting pots and one of them the ceramic shoe house pot.

Even though there were signs placed around the exhibition area stating that you are not allowed to touch the plants, there are still those who will. The guy who was in charge would often remind those who he sees touching the plants to please not do that.

It was at that moment when I realized good thing they cordoned it earlier. I wonder what would have happened to these plants if they were left alone to park goers.

There also flowering plants that were showcased there and they are pretty to look at.

Do you notice the person in the background? That's the cafe that we were at before while waiting for the exhibition to open.

Outside the exhibition area are bonsai, pots and other gardening stuff are being sold.

It is always interesting to visit bonsai exhibition and see these trees in pots. Usually, they are held at the city center in some of the parks there where they are exposed to more people.

Good thing we had the chance to see the Bonsai Exhibition at Botanical Garden. This will end tomorrow. The exhibition is still part of the Saleng Festival here in the city. Although the festival has already ended last June, there were still activities that were planned as late as now and in the coming months to celebrate that.

This is not just an exhibition but also a contest. I wonder who will win. They are all winners in my book.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
52 Comments
Ecency