My Plant Of The Week 4th Edition - Suffused With Succulents

Hello Hive World. Welcome to this 4th Edition of this personal series of mine called "My Plant of the Week." If you have missed my first 3 editions and would like to read about them just click on the links I have attached for you at the end of this post. Previously I posted this under the Feel Good Community but I have since discovered the Amazing Nature Community and decided to post it here. I feel this is where it really belongs.

In summary this is what this series is all about:
Each week I will feature a plant of choice which may or may not be in my wife's garden. It could be a plant in my office, in a friend's house or something I saw along the way to somewhere. It's a series I hope can keep you informed of the different plants in my place and uses for them, if any, aside from the aesthetics.

For this 4th edition I am featuring a small plant this time (I featured a giant plant last week) which my wife has suddenly taken an interest in growing. They are called Succulents.

IMG_20210320_122953.jpg

IMG20210318192021.jpg

My wife says this succulent plant is called an Echeveria. I Googled to find out what type of Echeveria and apparently it is called an Echeveria Agavoides Jade Point according to the GardenTags Plant Encyclopedia. It is an oriental garden plant. A popular pot plant selection and appears in most succulent collections.
IMG20210318192117.jpg

After my wife bought this a couple of weeks ago she took leaves from this plant because she found out this is one way of propagating succulents. The other is by stem cuttings. But I will get to that later. She placed the leaf cuttings on top of the soil of some of her spider plant pots and waited for it to take roots, which, honestly, I did not think will work. Here are some pics of these leaf cuttings nestled beside the young spider plants.

IMG20210320140345.jpg

IMG20210318192133.jpg

IMG20210318192204.jpg

When I told my wife I wanted to feature her succulents in a post she was hesitant because she did not know whether she will be successful or not. She said to wait until the leaves have started to root. And guess what? They actually did

IMG20210318085301.jpg

She even laid her leaf cuttings on a tray so I can take a photo of them.
IMG20210318085455.jpg

But not all could make it. This leaf actually started to sprout roots but suddenly withered and died. She could not explain why.
IMG20210318085342.jpg

These are 2 healthy leaves now placed in a different container.
IMG20210318192243.jpg

As I said earlier the other way to propagate succulents is by stem cuttings. My wife also bought another succulent plant and took stem cuttings from it. She planted these in separate pots and here they are now after a couple of weeks.

IMG20210318085224.jpg

IMG20210318085351.jpg

IMG20210318085234.jpg

IMG20210318085243.jpg

IMG20210320140300.jpg

You may be wondering where the mother plant is. Unfortunately my wife took too many stems from it and it died. A truly learning experience for her. She felt bad about the incident but now she knows better. Learning from mistakes is what makes everyone a better person. At least we have several healthy babies sprung from the mother plant. My wife could not remember the species of this succulent plant but upon searching using Google lens, I think this a Sedum clavatum, a succulent plant that grows in compact rosettes that elongate into long stems with time. I may be wrong. So please do correct me if I am.

We now have a small nursery of succulents. Not much to boast about for now. Hopefully they will grow, expand and become as beautiful as that of my friend @ewkaw's who seems to have that magic touch when it comes to flowers.

IMG20210318192009.jpg

I want to thank the Amazing Nature Community, especially @adalger, for welcoming me here. My series has now found a new home and hopefully can spread the joy of plants more.

For more interesting read, check out the first 3 editions of this series.

First Edition - A Superhero Marvel

Second Edition - A Pungent Beauty

Third Edition - Gentle Giants

All for now. Thank you for visiting. I hope you liked and enjoyed this post as much as I have preparing it. Stay safe everyone and may you all have an amazingly nature inspired weekend!

(All photos are mine.)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency