INTERESTING INSECTS , A SLUG AND A SNAKE #AMAZINGNATURE CONTEST JUNE 2021 #2

Hello nature lovers, hope all is well in your world with nature.

This is my entry in this week's #amazingnature contest.

Last week while spreading hay around the base of a walnut tree, I tossed up some hay to see this golf ball flip out of it. Well, I thought it was a golf ball until I saw a hornet fly out of it. Jumping back for fear of being stung, I watched the hornet buzz around for a bit ,then return to the small nest. With my trusty Cannon Power Shot SX550 HS, WITH A 50 OPTICAL ZOOM, I got busy taking a few photos. Interesting Insect for sure, but probably a little dangerous at the same time.

IMG_0233 (2).JPG

I wouldn't touch the nest but I was on my belly, trying to get as close as possible to capture this creature in the hive. Thank goodness for my zoom lens.

I still remember when I was a little girl playing in a river, I disturbed a hornet's nest that was under some brush along the bank of the stream. They attacked me from all sides, they were pissed, and I paid the price. I was welted up from their burning stings all over my body, probably had 8 or 9 of them. Ran home with my brother screaming and crying. My mother put me in a cold shower first, then rubbed me down with a baking soda paste. The rest of the day, ice packs were applied on the swollen areas. Somethings are hard to forget. Thank goodness I wasn't allergic to their venom systemically, just skin reaction, but that hurt enough for a little girl.

Etsy Item Listing Photo.jpg

This grasshopper is enjoying the view from the tops of some hop leaves.

IMG_3925.JPG

As calm and mellow as could be, this interesting and beautiful dragonfly just sat on my daughter's finger and posed for the photo shoot.

kids 111 (1).JPG

kids 110 (1).JPG

Talk about carrying your own weight, this ant was able to drag this dead moth across the deck, then push it through an opening to send it home for the family dinner.

insects.png

IMG_0108.JPG

SLUGS, what are they anyway?

Slug
Animal
Slug, or land slug, is a common name for any apparently shell-less terrestrial gastropod mollusc. The word slug is also often used as part of the common name of any gastropod mollusc that has no shell, a very reduced shell, or only a small internal shell, particularly sea slugs and semislugs.
Data from: Wikipedia.

They can destroy just about any plant, from vegetables to flowers, as well as young fruit tress. So each morning during the growing season here in Upstate NY, @thebigsweed and I go out with our scissors on slug patrol. We feel it's better to get rid of them by just piercing their soft bodies than to use powders or sprays to rid the plants of these destroyers.

It's gross, but it works!

IMG_0111.JPG

On a happier note. This fuzzy little bumble bee enjoys the nectar from some beautiful begonias.

IMG_4290.JPG

Another surprise for us was this creepy creature, also found among the hay bails. It seems the hay makes for a comfy hang out, there have been several other snakes found among the bails.

IMG_0224.JPG

I think observing nature can be such a trip. You never know what you may find on our #homestead, but it sure gives you something to talk about.

Thanks to our friend @adalger , #amazingnature comes to life on #hive.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency