Peruvian lily and the admirer

Lily of the Incas 1.jpg

There is a large garden bet filled with those lilies. Year after year the grow and then die back for winter. First it is a mess of large green leaves and if you ask me - they could even stay like that. They look at bit like some green Hostas.

And the flowers show up...

Lily of the Incas


Lily of the Incas 2.jpg

They can have different colours, though here only pink ones bloom. Would be nice to have the mixed with some yellow ones.
They are native to South America and can grow as tall as 1.5m. Pretty cool sight when dozens of stems is in bloom.

So I tried to to get some nice shots of the flowers... I was even ready to splash them a bit to get the waterdrops on the petals.

But I had to change my plans when this guy showed up :)

Lily of the Incas bumblebee 7.jpg

Lily of the Incas bumblebee 9.jpg

Lily of the Incas bumblebee 2.jpg

And I had to let him do his thing.
And it was a pleasure to watch. Those bumblebees are so cute!

Lily of the Incas bumblebee 3.jpg

Lily of the Incas bumblebee 4.jpg

Lily of the Incas bumblebee 5.jpg

Little plush fellas :)

Lily of the Incas 3.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency