Cute little Blue Buttons - Jasione montana

Jasione montana blue wildflower 3.jpg

This is another nice find I managed to shoot recently. Another one (after the last Illecebrum verticillatum) from the most recent trip. I didn't even to go look far. It was right there on the garden growing in the open space where nothing else grew.

Jasione montana


Jasione montana blue wildflower 2.jpg

One of the common names is Blue Buttons which I think fits just perfectly. The colour is so amazing and quite unusual to see among all the yellow and white flowers. The one and only bush was easy to spot on the dry, sandy soil.

Jasione montana blue wildflower 4.jpg

It can be found in the warmer parts of Europe on rather poor and sandy soil. It will often grow near the coast on rocks.

The flowers remind me garlic flowers. A cluster or tiny little flowers form a little ball (maybe 2 cm in diameter) at the end of a long stem. They start to bloom around March and will continue throughout the summer till around September.

Jasione montana blue wildflower 1.jpg

Jasione montana blue wildflower 5.jpg

Jasione montana blue wildflower 6.jpg

The leaves are rather small and mainly at the base of the plant and lower part of the flower stems.

Did I mention I like this type of graphics?
I did :)
So here is one for this plant too.

image.png
graphic source

Jasione montana blue wildflower 7.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency