Moth Trap: 11th June 2022 - Blowing a Gale!

Sharing the results from my latest Moth Trap Session. I have written posts about setting up a moth trap and on collecting the results if you want some more background info on how and why I use a Moth Trap

Hiveblog divider.png

moth trap 11-06-2022.png

Date: 11th June 2022

Weather:

Well, its the flippin' weekend! You know what that means, time for another moth-trap session

although, I may regret this one

The weather here in the middle of the UK is nice and warm at this time of year, but there is a significant weather system blowing through Scotland, and although I have avoided rain this evening, it has been blustery all day and although it is dying down, it is still windier out there than I would like!

There appears to almost be a Full Moon out there tonight. The Moth Trap worked by using a bright light to attract them, if there is a Full Moon on a clear sky, then that means my light, is not as effective... oh well all I can do is try and see what happens

keep your fingers crossed folks!

Results: 27 moths of 15 species

image.png

Summary of Results:

Well, I was right. The wind AND the bright Moon did affect results tonight. Other than a Bee Moth and a solitary Light Brown Apple Moth, I had nothing of note until after midnight when one of these funky Ichneumon Wasps turned up

Ophion ventricosus-0077PP.jpg
Ichneumon Wasp - Ichneumon sp

I love seeing these, such a photogenic group of wasps, the bright orange is really striking.

After this a few moths started to appear, many of which were the 'usual suspects' that I had recorded over the past few weeks - White Ermine, Heart & Dart, and Shears for example.

I did see the first Willow Beauty of the year:

Willow Beauty-1small.jpg

Which was quickly followed by a Celypha lacuana

moth id check-1007.jpg

At this point it was 1am, and I was seriously considering calling it for the night, when I noticed the moon had disappeared behind some cloud... this might be a chance to get something a bit more interesting?

and would you believe it, it did!

There was another White Ermine, and then a Common Wainscot and then I spotted 2 more Heart & Darts resting on the white sheet near the trap.

moth id check-0983.jpg

I saw this Marbled Minor agg resting on some of the plant leaves near the back door. You've got to keep a keen eye out for moths, they don't always end up near the trap!

Then I found this little micro moth, and I had no idea what species this was. Regular readers will know that this is a good thing, as it means it is almost certainly a new species to add to the list.

moth id check-1002.jpg

After some better images the following morning, and checking with some fellow moth-er's I can confirm it is indeed new: Eucosma cana

And then after that little micro had appeared, I managed to catch this wonderful Peppered Moth. This nicely marked moth is apparently quite common across the UK, and yet this only the 2nd time in 6 years that I have seen it in my garden.

moth id check-0994.jpg

I'm really chuffed to see one of these again, and I think that's a good place to end this. The weather was frustratingly windy tonight, but I did manage to see some good stuff in the end, so it was totally worth putting the trap out to see what happens.

The weather next Friday looks to be fab: 26C, dry and most importantly light winds!.

Looks like it's gonna be a good one, so I'll see you then!

hive signiture doze logo.png


Notes on Pictures: Since I started moth trapping 5 years ago, I have been slowly building up collection of Library Images. The idea being that once I have taken a picture of a particular species of Moth, I don't need another picture of the same species a year later. It’s a waste of time and energy. I only take pictures of new species, or of moths that are difficult to ID, so I can get the records verified.

While in my care, all individuals are looked after, and after Photographs have been taken, they are all released safely outside.

All names confirmed and checked via Wikispieces
Further Research from UK Moths and NatureSpot

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency