European Hedgehog - A welcome visitor to the garden!

Hedgehog visitor-6.jpg

Regular readers will know that I regularly spend time moth-trapping (especially through the summer months). For those who don't know, a Moth Trap is a humane way of catching moths (via a bright light source and a box) and after collecting records and photographing them they are released the following evening.

I have written posts about setting up a moth trap and on collecting the results if you want some more background info on how and why I use a Moth Trap.

A lot of people do this across the country, and indeed all over the world, but while most set up the trap and then leave it overnight, I am more actively involved in the process.

Hedgehog visitor-7.jpg
Brimstone Moth (Opisthograptis luteolata) resting on top of the trap

This means while most people are watching late-night TV or in bed, I am outside with a torch and a camera to see what else I can find. Interestingly while lots of moths end up inside the trap, significant numbers can often be see resting on plants or walls nearby, and by actively looking around the garden I can add other species to my records.

While I was photographing this Brimstone Moth I heard some rustling in the undergrowth...

Hedgehog visitor-1.jpg

Peering in between the plants I spotted a grey hairy shape - Its a Hedgehog!

I knew we had hedgehogs here in the garden and we regularly find thier poo on the edge of the lawn. In the summer months we put a bowl of water out for them which I'm sure they appreciate in the current hot weather. We did try putting food out for them as well but most of the time the greedy local cats would eat it. Anyway, there is plenty of natural food for them to eat here in the shape of beetle and other insects, and also slugs.

Hedgehog visitor-3.jpg

I wanted to take a picture of him (or her) but he didn't appreciate being watched and so sat there in the undergrowth waiting for me to get bored...

Hedgehog visitor-2.jpg

However, I was determined to get a decent picture of a Hedgehog, we had seen them shuffling around the garden regularly in the last 4 years... and I hadn't been successful yet.

I decided to step back and sit on the bench next to where the Moth Trap was. I knew that to get out of the garden he would have to go down to the far end, and that would mean he would have to walk past me. I sat down and waited while moths and flies were buzzing around my head...

Hedgehog visitor-4.jpg
European Hedgehog - Erinaceus europaeus

And after 30-40 minutes I finally heard a rustling as he broke cover and waked out on to the shorter grass. As I shone the torch onto him, he froze completely still, and I managed to take a couple of clear pictures.

Hedgehog visitor-5.jpg
European Hedgehog - Erinaceus europaeus

I checked the camera quickly and the pictures were adequate 😉

I thanked him for his time and patience (good manners cost nothing haha!) and then I went back inside the house and left him to shuffle and snuffle around the garden in peace. Always a joy to see these creatures, and I was so happy to finally get a decent photo of one.

20 minutes later I went back outside, and he had moved on to the next garden in the search of more crunchy beetles and slimy slugs to eat. I then carried on Moth-trapping (results to appear in a future post) and while I saw some more interesting moths, the Hedgehog was the undoubted highlight of the evening!

All names confirmed and checked via Wikispieces
Hedgehog infomation taken from Wildlife Trust website

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency