A Quick Getaway to Botna Bend Park

Hello all today I take you on my Friday daylight getaway. Since I had the day off I decided to take a quick 40 minute drive to a wonderful park that is located basically in the middle of no where. The place I visited was Botna Bend Park located near the tiny town of Hancock, Iowa.

I consider this park a little gem that not many no about. The park gets it name from the Nishnabotna River which has quite a few bends through the park. I didn't bring my fishing gear but thier is river access here. Some of the highlighted fish species in these waters include flathead catfish and carp. Being the Mighty Missouri River near my neck of the woods is flooded this might be my fix for some good ole river fishing 😊

This park offers ample camping opportunities which includes tent, camper and full hookup RV camping. To get in the park there is a $3 entrance fee, if you buy an annual Pottawatomie County park permit you can have unlimited visits here along with other parks in the county. The annual permit cost is $20 for county residents and $25 for non county residents. Yes I get one every year!

Plenty of outdoor adventure here in the 120 plus acre park. Two trails and even an archery range to test your Robin Hood abilities. I decided to take a walk on the Rail Trail. Come walk with me on quick tour of the trail.

All the trails here are basically flat and of a mowed path. I was wearing sneakers which felt good on the path. Once you get in a few hundred feet the sound is enlightened by the sounds of birds. Some you will see and others you won't. I heard owls, wood peckers and numerous other species of birds. I also seen a hawk, blackbirds and a few others. No four legged critters though except a lone squirrel. There was evidence of hair on one of the areas of the trail which I suspect to be that of a deer. Maybe it was from a really shaggy dog but it was pretty course though 🤣

Seeing the different types of plants and flowers is always nice to see. Not planted by man but by nature. Many different colors and kinds. Summer is bright with colors not just in gardens but also in nature in the form of wild flowers.

Well I was on the trail(s) for close to two hours. There were several parts that were split paths. I'll admit I became lost in it, the two trails including the archery range are all inter tangled. I walked and seen most of everything, sometimes more than once 😊 Now if I had a map I would not have got lost within it! Anyways the last sign I seen is one of two big draws to the park, the American Bison. So let me share that with you.

I show you this fence for a few reasons. One is it is rather tall because bison are not all that short and the other animal you will see in a bit is even taller. Second is the area between the wires is pretty wide. One can get a phone and both hands through it. I did this looking for park personnel first and than close by animals next. The closest shot I took of an animal was like 10 feet away except for one time. I was about to take a really close picture of a bison eating out of feeder than he lifted his head up and looked at me. Hands and phone came back to me pretty quickly.

Just an estimate I'd say this bison herd is of about 50 in all. Everytime I see them I can't help to think there were many millions roaming much of the plains. It's sad to think before the turn of the 20th century there wasn't much more than what is here. I don't know the exact numbers today but at least there not close to extinction. They will never be in numbers they once were before people moved westward.

Anyways I spent quite a bit of time watching them. I seen them run, bathe and eat. They are not all big there are some younger ones. The youngest ones were aways in the distance being attended by some adults. This park has housed bison since the 1960s and they stay here all year. They even reproduce in the park. They are not cramped here plenty of area to roam around.

It was entertaining seeing them in the water. The largest one entered the water hole first followed by 3 others. The large one leaned forwards with its head like it was going to take a drink. He started snarling and blowing water everywhere. It was quite funny as the other three stopped what they were doing and all looked back at him. Well what other animal is also here?

The other animal that resides here is elk. Same as the bison about 50 or so in this herd. They also live here year around and also reproduce here. I witnessed them either laying down or grazing. I hoped but I did not get to see any of them running.

The elk had a bit different attitude than the bison. If you got somewhat close to an elk that was laying down it would stand up tall and look at you with that WTF look. I stayed my distance from those that were resting to give them their space.

How big are elk? Think of them almost the same size as an adult horse. The big difference of course is some have antlers. Definitely not an animal in the wild you want to take lightly.

I had a good time at this park. My feelings were like I was out on a vacation far away from home. This park is definitely underated and offers more than what I have shared today. I don't mind that it is like that. Less people more elbow room and not having to worry about personal space.

That's all I have for you this time. Take care, stay safe and enjoy the weekend ahead 😊 Until next time!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
42 Comments
Ecency