A turtledove fell through my window

Hello friends of Amazing Nature community.
It is always beautiful to share with people who love nature and are in contact with it. Today I want to share an amazing experience with a bird.

IMG_20211002_102356_Snapseed.jpg

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

I was cooking when suddenly I felt a noise in the living room of my house. When I checked, I realized that a bird had come in and was trying to get out, but every time it tried it was hitting the glass of the window. It was very agitated, so I tried to approach it carefully to help it. But when she saw me, she started to hide and run around all the corners of my living room. She ended up tired, and so did I.

IMG_20211002_102035_Snapseed.jpg

I let her go into repose and try to investigate around her a bit. I didn't want her to feel threatened. When the bird was calmer, she let me hold her so I could help her out and take some pictures to identify her. In the end, I think it felt very confident because when it approached the window it landed calmly on one of my fingers, and I was even able to take a video of it to save this pleasant experience.

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

Months ago, I started to place in my window a plate with food for birds. Many come daily to eat, but it is very difficult to identify each one by its species. However, at a glance, I have managed to appreciate five different types. This bird is among the species that I have seen that come to eat the seeds that I place. However, I think I also found the answer to who are the ones eating the succulent plants that I have in my window. I think I found the culprit.

IMG_20211002_134021.jpg

IMG_20211002_135009.jpg

Well doing a little research on this bird, I found that it is a Columbina talpacoti lovebird. This is a female as the male is different. It is also known as a reddish lovebird. It belongs to the pigeon family and is typical of open wooded areas as they make their nests in the tops of not very tall trees. They reproduce very fast. This fact is very important because in front of my house there are two trees from where I have seen them come out to my window to eat so the visit of this bird inside my living room is not a coincidence...I have served them dinner!

But in this friendship between me and the lovebirds, some big losers are my succulents. Although the Columbina talpacoti feeds on seeds and insects, they also like some plants, and I think succulents are their favorite. And who wouldn't succumb to succulents? Their fleshy leaves look so provocative that even I am tempted to take a bite, hahaha.

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

So that my succulent plants do not suffer the attack of these little lovebirds I have two options. The first one would be not to place any more food so the lovebirds would not come, but as I know they have already tasted the deliciousness of my plants, I think they would still come to peck at them. So my second option is to place a protective netting around my succulents to protect them from this Columbina talpacoti. This way our friendship can continue to grow, and I enjoy watching the birds come to my window to eat. This is a unique sensation that people who live in the city cannot enjoy most of the time.

IMG_20211002_102214_Snapseed.jpg

IMG_20211002_102549_Snapseed.jpg

For now, I leave you with some pictures of this beautiful bird that visited me in my living room. In a future post, I will tell you how I was placing the netting on the succulents and if the lovebirds lost interest in pecking at them. See you!

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

English (2).gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency