[esp-ing] 🌱 - Multiplying my calla plant - 🌱

Hey dear friends!

Taking advantage of the fact that yesterday the sun finally came out again, and the weather once again became ideal, I decided that I wanted another plant inside the house to keep my alocasia company. It occurred to me to multiply my calla plant and here I share the process with you.

Hey queridos amigos!

Aprovechando que en el día de ayer al fin volvió a salir el sol, y nuevamente el clima se puso ideal, decidí que quería otra planta dentro de casa para que le haga compañía a mi alocasia. Se me ocurrió propagar mi planta de cala y aquí les comparto el proceso.

multiplying_20240418_092458_0000.png


🌱🌱🌱



Here in my country, we are already going through autumn, and since it arrived, the cold, gray and rainy days immediately began. I love the cold, but when it rains for many days in a row, it depresses me a little, or rather, my spirits fade a little.
Yesterday I woke up very early in the morning and when I saw the energetic light coming through my window, I noticed that the sun had finally returned. In these cases, my energy is recharged and I feel the need to do activities to make the most of it.

While I was having breakfast, I watched my alocasia and I got the feeling that she was very alone there next to the window, so I got to work to find her a companion and, in the process, further beautify the interior of my home.

Aquí en mi país, ya estamos transitando el otoño, y desde que este llegó, inmediatamente comenzaron los días fríos, grises y lluviosos. Me encanta el frio, pero cuando llueve durante muchos días seguidos, un poco me deprime, o mas bien, se me apagan un poco los ánimos. Ayer me desperté bien temprano por la mañana y al ver la enérgica luz que entraba por mi ventanal, noté que al fin había vuelto el sol. En estos casos, mi energía se recarga y siento la necesidad de realizar actividades para aprovecharlo al máximo.

Mientras desayunaba, observaba a mi alocasia y me dio la sensación de que estaba muy sola allí al lado del ventanal, por lo que me puse manos a la obra para buscarle una compañera y de paso, embellecer aún mas el interior de mi hogar.

IMG_20240409_155332.jpg

IMG_20240409_155349.jpg

The first thing I did was look for a medium-sized pot and I remembered that I had one on the terrace, which a while ago, contained some cuttings that in the end did not prosper, and I left it in that place for when I needed it again.

Having what would be the container, I now needed a large plant that could also thrive indoors. The only plant I had, with large leaves, was the calla lily, but I wasn't too sure if it could adapt indoors, since it was always outside, with a few hours of direct sun. To my surprise, after Googling it, I found that with the necessary care, it could be adapted without problems.

Lo primero que hice fue buscar una maceta de tamaño mediano y recordé que en la terraza tenia una, que hace un tiempo, contenía unos esquejes que al final no prosperaron, y la dejé en ese lugar para cuando la volviese a necesitar.

Teniendo lo que sería el contenedor, ahora me faltaba una planta de tamaño grande y que a la vez pudiese prosperar en interiores. La única planta que tenía, de hojas grandes, era la cala, pero no estaba demasiado seguro de si podría adaptarse dentro de casa, ya que siempre estuvo afuera, con algunas horas de sol directo. Para mi sorpresa, luego de googlearlo, encontré que con el cuidado necesario, podía adaptarse sin problemas.

IMG_20240409_155711.jpg

Well, I already had two needs, so as the next step, I went to look for some fertile soil in the garden and gathered it in a bag so I could prepare it before putting it in the pot with its new host.

Next, I removed the old, dry soil from the pot and then washed the container.

Bien, ya tenía dos necesidades resultas, por lo que como siguiente paso, fui a buscar un poco de tierra fértil al jardín y la junté en una bolsa para poder prepararla antes de ponerla en la maceta con su nueva huesped.

A continuación, quité la tierra vieja y seca de la maceta para luego lavar el contenedor.

IMG_20240409_155818.jpg

IMG_20240409_160007.jpg


The truth is that I generally don't have the necessary budget to buy the different elements that make up a good substrate, so I always replace it with organic things that I find in my garden. Which, by the way, has worked wonders for me so far.

So I mixed the new soil with a little sand, a little crushed eggshell and tree bark. To ensure that the substrate remains oxygenated and does not compact over time.

La verdad es que por lo general no cuento con el presupuesto necesario para comprar los diferentes elementos que componen un buen sustrato, por lo que siempre lo remplazo con cosas orgánicas que encuentro en mi jardín. Que, por cierto, hasta ahora me ha funcionado de maravilla.

Asique mesclé la tierra nueva con un poco de arena, un poquito de cascara de huevo triturada y corteza de árbol. Para lograr que el sustrato se mantenga oxigenado y no se compacte con el tiempo.

IMG_20240409_160024.jpg

IMG_20240409_160110.jpg

With the pot and the soil clean, now I continued with the propagation of the calla.

To do this, I began to separate the soil around the plant so that I could divide the bushes without hurting the plant too much.

Once separated, I continued washing the roots and leaves of the new plant well so that it could be transplanted without problems.

Con la maceta y la tierra limpia, ahora si, continué con la propagación de la cala.

Para ello, comencé a separar la tierra al rededor de la planta para poder hacer una división de matas sin lastimar demasiado a la planta.

Una vez separado, proseguí lavando bien las raíces y las hojas de la nueva planta para poder trasplantar sin problemas.

IMG_20240409_160423.jpg

IMG_20240409_160557.jpg

At the base of the pot I put some stones to ensure good filtration and prevent water from accumulating in the soil, drowning the roots (although the calla needs quite abundant watering, this way we will prevent the roots from rotting).

Then I added a little of the substrate that I prepared previously and carefully placed the calla lily, and then finished filling the pot with the missing substrate.

En la base de la maceta puse algunas piedras para asegurar un buen filtrado y evitar que el agua se acumule en la tierra ahogando las raíces (aunque la cala necesita un riego bastante abundante, de esta manera evitaremos que las raíces su pudran).

Luego agregué un poco del sustrato que preparé previamente y coloqué, con cuidado, la cala, para luego terminar de rellenar la maceta con el sustrato faltante.

IMG_20240409_160132.jpg

IMG_20240409_160159.jpg

IMG_20240409_160900.jpg

To help the stability of the plant (since they tend to get a little stressed the first few days after transplanting and also, their leaves weigh a lot), I took a piece of thick wire that I found in the workshop and with it, I made a guide or " tutor" and I stuck it in the ground, in such a way that the stems of the plant find a support that helps them adapt.

Para ayudar a la estabilidad de la planta (ya que suelen estresarse un poco los primeros días luego del trasplante y además, sus hojas pesan mucho), tomé un pedazo de alambre grueso que encontré en el taller y con él, hice una guía o "tutor" y lo clavé en la tierra, de tal manera, que los tallos de la planta encuentren un soporte que las ayude en la adaptación.

IMG_20240409_161642.jpg

IMG_20240409_161828.jpg

Finally, I covered the surface of the pot a little with the leftover tree bark (to maintain humidity), and decorated with some quartz and a pine cone, which I love!
This also helps me keep my cat from trying to dig in the ground and make a mess inside the home, not to mention the stress that this would cause to the plant.

Por ultimo, tapé un poco la superficie de la maceta con la corteza de árbol que me sobró (para que mantenga la humedad), y decoré con algunos cuarzos y una piña de pino, que me encantan! Ésto también me ayuda a que mi gato no se acerque es querer escarbar en la tierra y haga un desparramo dentro del hogar, y ni hablar del estrés que le provocaría eso a la planta.

IMG_20240409_161932.jpg

And this is how beautiful my indoor plants look keeping each other company.

Remember to talk nice to your plants so that they grow healthy, strong and with a lot of love.

Y así de bellas se ven mis plantas de interior haciéndose compañía.

Recuerden hablarle lindo a sus plantitas para que crezcan sanas, fuertes y con mucho amor.

IMG_20240409_162803.jpg

IMG_20240409_162744.jpg

🌱🌱🌱


Thank you for reading my content. a big hug for everyone

Gracias por leer mi contenido. Un abrazo grande para todos





All photographs and editions are my property. Made with the picsart and canva app.
Todas las fotografías y ediciones son de mi autoría. Realizado con la aplicación picsart y canva.



20240323_162524_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency