Art Talk: Armstrong Browning Library and Museum

The second museum I am highlighting this year (2023) is located on the Baylor University Campus in Waco, Texas. It is the Armstrong Browning Library and Museum

I went on a girls trip to Waco in January and booked a tour of the library. I did it because I really wanted to see the stained glass. It turned out to be an awesome tour of an incredible library and Museum.....two of my favorite things!

The library was built in 1951 and houses the world's largest collection of work of Robert and Elizabeth Browning. It also has 62 stained glass windows (the largest secular stained glass collection in the US) and incredible ceilings.

Entrance

We were greeted at the entrance by our tour guide. Who was fabulous and knew that I was in Waco on a birthday trip and brought me a fun "Birthday Queen" sash to wear. Here is a look at a portrait of Robert Browning and his desk, the bronze doors and a couple of the stained glass in the entrance area and me and my sash.

John Leddy-Jones Research Hall

I was in awe when we entered this room. The light was golden and illuminated the incredible stained glass windows so beautifully. The stained glass windows in here (and I think through a lot of the museum) are representations of the Browning's poems.

There was a nice collection of Encyclopedia Britannica. I loved those when I was young, pre internet days!

Ceilings

The ceilings throughout the Library were great.



Hankamer Treasure Room

I would have liked a bit more time to look at all the treasures in this room. Especially the stained glass and the great ceiling.

Below are a couple of pictures of the stained glass and then some with close up pictures of the poems.

Poetry

Robert and Elizabeth were both poets that lived in England and Italy in the 1800s.

So let him wait God's instant men call years: Meantime hold hard by truth and his great soul do out the duty! Through such souls alone God stooping shows sufficient of his light for us I' the dark to rise by, and I rise.
Pompilia

Truth is within ourselves and to know consists in opening out a way whence the imprisoned splendor my escape.
Paracelsus


Everywhere I see in the world the intellect of man everywhere but they make not up. I think the marvel of a soul like thine earth's flower she holds up to the softened gaze of God!
The Pope


The year's at the spring. The lark at the wing; and day's at the morn; The snail on the thorn. Morning's at seven; God's in his heaven- The hill-sides dew-pearled. All's right with the world!

The McLean Foyer of Meditation

Wow this was a stunning room. The tour guide told us that they have weddings here. I can see why.

There is also a little alcove that is said to be the most romantic spot on Baylor campus. It has two poems inscribed on the walls.

How do I love Thee, by Elizabeth Barrett Browning
Invocation from the Ring and the Book, by Robert Browning

Elizabeth Browning room

This room upstairs is all about Elizabeth and they tour guide told us about their love story. Elizabeth went against her father's wishes and eloped with Robert and they lived out the remainder of their lives together, in Italy.

Here is group shot. We had a great time in this stunning library.

I thought it was pretty unusual to tour a library on vacation, come to find out about 25,000 people go to the library a year. There are many the come like me and my friends to see the stained glass, more likely come for the library exhibitions, cultural events, and university-related activities such as conferences, lectures, and musical performances.

Baylor Campus

We walked through a little bit of Baylor Campus, I wanted to show that to you too.

Sources:
Armstrong Browning Library and Museum- Bayor
Armstrong Browning Library and Museum- Wikepedia

Art Talk Series Highlights

2023
Theme: Museums
Art Talk: Rijksmusuem

Other:
Art Talk: 25 Pieces of Wood, Christmas 2022

Art Talk: 2022 Posts
Art Talk: 2021 Posts
Art Talk: 2020 Posts
Art Talk: 2019 Posts
Art Talk: 2018 Posts

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency