Have Your Cake

It is my wife's birthday coming up in a few days, and Smallsteps and I have decided to "surprise" her with a small trip away together. It isn't actually a surprise for my wife, but Smallsteps and I have been planning it as if it is, and we will spend a few days in Tallinn Estonia next month. Smallsteps is very excited about keeping this secret, and while it is already booked (by my wife and I), she and I have sat down doing secret squirrel work looking at boat trips and hotels. It'll only be for a couple nights, but I am looking forward to it.

image.png

However, next week is also Vappu (May Day), which is the anniversary of when I asked my wife to marry me, a decade ago. We had already living together for a year or two, but I knew the night I met her that I was going to marry her. This also means that next year will be our tenth wedding anniversary as well, so I guess the occasion should be marked somehow.

The gift is tin?

That should keep costs down at least.

It is unlikely that we will be travelling anywhere too far this summer, so the short trip away will be nice, and Smallsteps has never been to Estonia. It is funny in Europe to me, because "going to another country" isn't such a big, because there are so many so close. From Australia though when I was a kid, travelling to another state was an event. My first trip to another country was to New Zealand on a school ski trip, and I was seventeen. Since then, I have travelled a lot more though, and while it is nice to get away, just "being away" isn't enough - it has to bring with it something special to do, or some good stories to tell.

Good stories don't happen sitting at a hotel pool.

We are looking to do a few domestic road trips this summer however, and visit some places we haven't been before, or to the coast to spend some time by the sea. Even though there are a couple hundred thousand lakes, I miss the being close to the ocean, and we live inland. There are lots of little random bits of nature to see, or the odd tourist attraction, and we will probably do some AirBnB stays instead of hotels to keep the costs down.

Part of my approach to building a new lifestyle, is spending more time doing more normal things, rather than just working. I haven't travelled that much in Finland largely because I just haven't taken the time for it, often using the excuse that I have better things to spend the money on than random trips. However, while they might not be filled with the same kind of exciting experiences as the past, Smallsteps is also at an age where she is going to start benefiting from these experiences too.

A lot of people don't like driving distance with their kids, I actually love it, as we always have great conversations. The other day, I was out with Smallsteps and when we had almost got home, she asked if we can drive for a bit longer and talk more, so we just went around side streets and things for another quarter hour chatting.

Normal things.

Eat better. Exercise consistently. Spend quality time with friends and family. Enjoy the little things a little more. While I spend a lot of time considering the larger meta environment in which I live, it is also important to act locally, and part of that is ensuring that I am taking care of myself, as well as others in some way.

Since Smallsteps was born, we have put so much time, money and energy into providing for her needs, that at least for me, I have largely forgotten about myself, and that isn't good for her either. It looks like we will never be free of health issues in this family, but if we keep waiting that we are all okay before we do things, we will be waiting forever, doing nothing in the meantime.

Can do attitude.

This phrase is often used to describe someone who has a positive mindset and takes a proactive approach to situations to get things done. But for me, maybe it is more do what I can even if it isn't quite what I want. Doing something is better than doing nothing when it comes to quality of life.

Which reminds me...

Even though we have the short trip booked for the birthday, I think I am going to have to get something to mark the actual day also. It doesn't have to be (won't be) expensive, but I think that getting something on your birthday is mandatory - at least to go with the card that Smallsteps is going to make. I have been looking around for a yoga mat carry bag - and there are apparently none in Finland in any store, anywhere, and it is too late to get one online. So I will have to look for something else.

Small things.

Perhaps a hug voucher.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency