Reflecting on my recent visit to Jamaica

mumdadjamaica.jpg


This photo of my parents was taken before I left for the airport. It had been over 20 years since I took a photo with the two of them, so I shall send them this one. I was overcome with emotions when leaving, and I cried privately in the washroom because my dad is a softy and I know how catchy crying can be.

Being away from one's home country and parents, especially with all the recent awful events in the world, I felt thankful that I was able to reconnect with them after nearly 9 years. They are both in their late 70s and in good health, which is reassuring for me.

I'm the last child, and as much as my dad would love for me to take care of the house in the future, the sad thing is that as lovely as Jamaica is and as comfortable as the family home is with a coveted orchard, I do not see myself calling Jamaica "home."

me.jpg

Yes, I was relaxed on the premises, especially in the back garden, where I spent my days. However, my reflection here is an honest one: The island is saturated with some heinous crimes. Criminal activities and killings are at an unprecedented high. During our stay, there was a state of emergency with a strong army presence across the island with soldiers fighting crime, but still, the consensus of locals was that they chose not to go out of their homes except for necessities.

This is sad. Jamaica is an island blessed with natural beauty. Waterfalls, beaches, rivers, mountains, valleys, and stunning nature.

What good is all that if I'm forced to lock myself in my burglar-barred home?

According to the Jamaica Gleaner, the most trusted print media, the cost of living in Jamaica is among the highest in the Latam region, as I see from the latest news from September last year.

Comparing Jamaica to other tropical, and third-world countries on other continents. Yes, there's no denying that Jamaica stands out in terms of the layout of the land and its natural beauty. However, as it stands, I felt like the country does not have much more to offer.
It pains me to say this because I would like to be an ambassador "for" my country, but I've acknowledged that Jamaica is not a progressive country.

Walking the streets of the village where I grew up and the town where I went to school, I saw little change and I felt like I was in a time warp.

One disappointment was that I did not feel safe to go roaming for street photography. I'd have been delighted to show some stunning, colourful, charming little houses to give a glimpse of the pride people take in their environment, despite whatever poverty and hardships they are facing. Still, my safety was my priority.


Jamaica - "Wi Likkle but wi Tallawah"

This is like the unofficial motto of Jamaica, which means that we are a small nation of people who are determined to do great things that we set our minds to, and not be constrained by the boundaries of the small island.

Does anyone remember the Jamaican Bobsled team who competed in the Olympics?
Well, while reminiscing and reflecting on the good ole days, I found this photo taken with the original team who went to the Olympics and recalled the chat I had with these guys.

bobsled.jpg

They are from humble beginnings with big dreams of competing in the Olympics. Never in their wildest dreams, that it would be bobsleigh.
These guys are probably of retirement age now, but they helped to put Jamaica on the map.

There have been recent reports of personal financial losses of one of the more prominent Jamaican athletes, which got Jamaica much international media attention.

Still, I spent 3 months wondering what state the country will be in in the next 20 years.

Reggae music and the ever-popular Bob Marley gives people the impression that Jamaica is laid-back.

Well, Bob Marley must be turning in his grave!

The dancehall music which is prominent on the island is being censored on radios because they speculate that much of the music instigate acts of violence, especially against women.

One thing that's still amazing is the food!

jamaica meals.jpg

Don't get me wrong.

I had a fantastic time with my family and at the resorts that I visited during my time there.

Here are some links to some recent posts which showed the contrasting side of the reality of Jamaica. The pretty side, which is overshadowed by the ugly side that I speak of here.
Chilling at Xtabi, Negril, Jamaica
Banishing the Monday Blues, Negril, Jamaica
Wild Coffee Retreat Experience, Negril, Jamaica

But, would you want to live in a beautiful place, and have to move around like a skittish cat?

The reality is that crime has become the norm, it's a livelihood for the young and the old.
How do you change the mindset of a nation? How do you alter the psychology of a person to be more content with a simple lifestyle and not be too caught up with material gains?

family.jpg

I have a sister who celebrated her birthday at this family gathering, and I have lots of extended families back in Jamaica. Sadly, I feel no real connection with the island, my roots.

Still, I "hope" that I will one day live to see Jamaica with its old charm of smiling, friendly, courteous Jamaicans who welcome strangers with open arms.

It is great to be back in the UK for now.

Thank you for stopping by:)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
74 Comments
Ecency