It's Time To Leave

Today, i just handed my resignation letter to our manager.

Ive been reflecting about my career journey, although not quite that long yet since i started my job in the firm. Don't get me wrong, i find my job really interesting especially because i get to visit different companies and have an exclusive look at how they work and internally manage their company. This job allowed me to explore and go to adventures that i wouldn't be able to experience if i were just working in some wfh set up job.

I had a lot of my firsts in this firm too. Recently, i tried hosting for an event in our firm for the first time. Surprisingly, it wasn't that scary as i thought it would be. I also tried overnight field works which is also a new experience for me because I'm not usually comfortable not sleeping in my room. Fortunately, i survive my 1 week overnight fieldwork (see: Dorm Life For A Week.)



There are a lot of good things i can say about my job. In terms of career growth, our company is supportive of progression. At least twice a year, our coach (or manager) would sit down with us individually and ask for our future plans with our career and align our given tasks to our plans moving forward.

But despite all these things, i just tendered my resignation today. So why did i resign, if you asked? The reason is because i want growth. Being in the firm means working long hours and sometimes would demand us to work on weekends. My dad once told me told me that at my age, in my twenties, i am at my prime. He advice me to try other career paths and not be stuck in my current job only. Being an accountant, i know i have a lot of options in my hands. Whether it be on auditing, taxation consultancy, management service, or even venture a career in Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR).

Although there's career growth in the firm, i just know that the growth I'm looking for cannot be found in the firm. I hope to explore different horizons and reach new heights as i step into a different world.

But the hardest thing is to say good bye to my friends in the office. We have shared a lot of long hours of over time at the office together. Some of them are my college classmates and even thesis mates. I have know these people for more than half a decade. Some i just met for a short period of time but i will forever treasure our moments together. I know that life is ever changing and we meet people for a reason. This is not a good bye, however, i already accepted the fact that our interactions will become lesser as i move on with my journey.


I will end my blog with a quote i stumbled upon in Facebook, "Every new beginning comes from some other beginning's end".

That's it for today's blog. See you on my next one!

Sending some love and light,

-JaneXOXO

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency